Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Workbench Mounted Gantry for Timber Milling

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by George Harris, Feb 7, 2023.

1. George Harris

Builder

Hi all, long time lurker, first time poster and absolute newbie, please be kind! I have searched extensively but need to ask a few questions.

I am planning and designing a new workbench for my very small shop that combines a number of functions. I've been collecting parts for a while and I am working on getting kit to make a gantry mounted to the workbench. This will be for milling timber primarily. Stage 1 will be manual movement, stage two in the future will be motorisation. Anything I build now needs to support motorisation and automation down the track.

Question is, will my design work? I have 2 variants. The difference is the Y axis. I have copied the Openbuilds 1515 gantry but modified the Y axis to mount into my workbench. The first, I (perhaps supidly purchased already) the linear guide rail from Igus https://www.igus.com/product/723?artNr=NS-01-27S along with 2 carriages per side https://www.igus.com/product/1156?artNr=NW-11-27-80.
    -If anyone has experience with these, do you think they will be rugged enough?
    -Will the whole X axis rack from side to side and bind?
    -The negatives:
    -Automation will be difficult compared to Openbuilds
    -If I get the OB gantry compatibility with motors etc. may be difficult?
    -The C-Beam in design #2 would ensure a flat work bench plus support a myriad of other attachments

The second variant uses C-beam for the Y axis. You cant see them but there are 2 gantry carts mounted 400mm apart inside the C-beam channel. Things I dont know and need help with are:
    -I want the 500mm Z axis, too high and unstable?
    -Would the Y axis rack from side to side and bind? I need to able to push it along from one side of the bench.
    -Is C-beam available longer than 2000mm? I need around 2900mm.