Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds CONTROL Software

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Mark Carew, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    Not yet, copy paste from Serial Console? (run $$)
     
  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    634
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    There is a plan for something better but its gonna be a little while - long list of priorities :)
     
  4. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    634
    No worries. I was able to setup everything again quite quickly. Having the fine tune steps function really helped.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  5. P-Hacker

    P-Hacker New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont know where else to turn. I've been looking for a manual/guide for open builds control & this is the closest i've come. i've built a 2 axis router table frame, wired it to a ramps/mega 2560. I had marlin on it, but configured for a delta. and got the steppers to move. then i checked & found grbl 1.1g for mega. and loaded that up. and hooked up openbuilds control v1.0.138 and when i send jogs to it, it doesn't move. I know i probably will need to get a better control board some day, but i'd like to proof of concept before i invest too much more. i cant find anywhere, to tell me what steps to set on the board (1/4,1/8,1/16) and the pre-loaded steps per mm, 250, might be high.
     
  6. Trevor Farnum

    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is it just me, or does this light up anyone else's AntiVirus products? First it blocked it due to ransomware, then it didn't like the file modifications it was doing and it kicked the main executable. The install isn't signed either, so that threw a red flag on Windows Defender. Clearly you folks have it installed - did the last compile from Github have something come along for the ride? Or is everyone just shutting down their AV to get this installed?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    You are correct that we are not signing yet. But the rest shouldnt be happening.
    Any more logs out of Trend?
    I'll scan them this morning too but I use ESET. We compile on AppVeyor so its unlikely its infected already. Might be something like Trend's heuristic scanner picking up the https webserver (that runs https://mymachine.openbuilds.com:3001)

    If you could pull some more logs that would be great . (the screenshot says 'a malicious program' encrypted our executable, sounds almost like something already on the machine, encrypted openbuildscontrol.exe when it was written to disk. Cryptolockers sit and wait for file writes to do their thing)
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    ESET didnt find anything odd, so I'm downloading a trial of Trend Maximum Security like you have, so check it out closer: (300+mb for an AV? 2 hours ETA....)

    2HRS.PNG
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    Start with a known-working config: I'd recommend an Uno/Nano running Grbl 1.1f ( from official release gnea/grbl) or if you only have the Mega, at least make sure its also the official Gnea version (gnea/grbl-Mega - download hex from gnea/grbl-Mega and make sure to wire according to gnea/grbl-Mega - it's not the same pinout at the UNO)
     
  10. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    634
    Yesterday's update was the first time my AV popped up with a warning about it not be signed. I'm running Norton.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  11. Christian James

    Christian James Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    39
    My AVG has a look at it but says it's fine.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  12. P-Hacker

    P-Hacker New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Peter,
    Thank you so much. The response is much appreciated. after i posted that i rememebered that i had an unused MKS sbase 1.3 in a box. I was able to load that with the latest smoothie firmware, wire up my steppers and get my machine moving last night. Then i used the openbuilds CAM and generated some rough tool paths and had it stepping through some paces. Its very intuitive, except, i know this is more a 3d printer thing, but homing? I have endstops wired (mechanical) but cant tell if im supposed to use them in this fashion. I've got to actually assemble the z axis before i worry about it too much. Thanks again, and i really appreciate the help.
     
  13. Toby Martin

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oof, just upgraded to 1.138...and I get a bunch of (I mean a bunch...that keep scrolling by) error messages:

    [18:35:27] [ [external from hardware] ] Openbuilds CONTROL received a RESET/ABORT notification from Grbl: This could be due to someone pressing the RESET/ABORT button (if connected), or DriverMinder on the xPROv4 detected a driver fault

    So, I do have the external Abort button - nice when I need to park the machine to change out tools...
    ...the problem is I get several (I stopped counting at 30+) messages a second then...

    Several messages:
    [18:35:27] [ ] Grbl 1.1f['$' for help]
    [18:35:27] [ ] [MSG: '$H' | '$X' to unlock]

    Several more of the first message about RESET/ABORT...

    Then Openbuilds CONTROL eventually doesn't get the whole Grbl version number and disconnects...
    [18:35:27] [ ] Grbl 1.'
    [18:35:27] [ undefined ] Detected an unsupported version: Grbl. This is sadly outdated. Please upgrade to 1.1 or newer to use this software. Go to gnea/grbl
    [18:35:27] [ disconnect ] PORT INFO: Port closed

    ...I do have Grbl 1.1f
    ... xPROv3

    Going back a version or two for now...
     
    #163 Toby Martin, Jan 27, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2019
  14. DCFYI411

    DCFYI411 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Any chance you will add probe support?
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  15. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    634
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    As @sharmstr said above - thats Z0 probing; If you want to do your own things like XY probing etc, you can use the MACROs tab to add some G38.x Macros to suit your specific needs too
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    Hi Toby

    Would you mind helping me debug this one?

    1. Download Putty, close all other applications (including CONTROL) that could interfere with the serial ports
    2. Connect to your XPRO: 115200 baud, type your correct COM port, click OPEN
    serial1.PNG
    3. In the Putty Terminal, type "?" (Question Mark)
    A couple times wouldnt hurt: Grab me a screenshot please :)

    putty.PNG

    As you can see above, for the first couple times I sent "?" the button was being held down, for the next couple it wasnt (That was the HOLD button, expecting to see Pn:R in your log)

    This will tell us if its your hardware (IE does grbl still report Pn:?? in the status reports when you are in Putty) or a bug I cant reproduce here (Works for me everytime, three seperate test boards and hours of trying to get it to do what yours does)


     

    Attached Files:

  18. mrp192

    mrp192 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    Does hard limits have to be turned on for homing to work? I only have min end stops. Also I do alot of my cam work in fusion and I get a T1 M6 error. Any Ideas?
     
  19. Hector Beltran

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    21
    Love the newest MacOS "no need to force quit" version. However, the latest release broke the webgl support on older Macs. I am hoping you guys enable it again.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  20. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    Hard Limits tells Grbl it has switches installed, see github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki for more info

    T1 M6: manually remove the unsupported commands, or use a Grbl compatible Post Processor. As Grbl does not support Toolchanges.
     
  21. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    Thanks for the report. Will check, as the legacy webgl switches were in turn causing issues elsewhere :) so will need to find a middle ground
     
  22. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    689
    I don't think you need hard limits set.
    you will need to set the homing directions correctly, normal homing is at max travel ends (industry standard).

    no, having negative machine coordinates is not a problem, just jog to your PART ZERO and click the zero buttons in the GUI. you never need to know the absolute coordinates.
    and if you want to the gantry at the front for tool change, just jog there and issue G28.1
    after that giving a G28 command will move to that exact spot every time (if you home in the same place everytime of course)

    The stock GRBL post in Fusion is not very good as they have not read any of the docs for GRBL (-:
    GRBL does not support tool changes , for example, so there should never be a T1 M6 code.

    Please try this one instead
    swarfer/GRBL-Post-Processor
    and there are some others around the web if you look.
    My one tries hard to avoid errors from Fusions habit of creating very small arc segments on leadin and leadout moves.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    From: Grbl hard limits and homing
    David is correct, you don't need it enabled (but since you have switches, doesnt hurt either)
     
  24. mrp192

    mrp192 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    Awesome Thank you!
     
  25. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    Se
    See Post #170 OpenBuilds CONTROL Software - I need someone with the problem to grab me those... my test boards/PCs doesnt present the issue to debug it
     
  26. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    @Spark Concepts - any idea why the boards are holding down HOLD? (as we can see we do get Pn:H from grbl, so it's a hardware issue...
     
  27. mrp192

    mrp192 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    Alright. So with CNCjs I can home without having hard limits enabled. With OBC I have to have hard limits enabled. But if I have it disabled. The home all button is just gray as seen.
     

    Attached Files:

  28. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    Will fix next chance i get. (Tomorrow when I get into the office)
     
    David the swarfer and mrp192 like this.
  29. P-Hacker

    P-Hacker New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i will research 'hard limits enabled' to see if i can enable it on my smoothie.. then i will have homing? yes/no?
     
  30. DCFYI411

    DCFYI411 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Making the move from Shapeoko 3 to a custom machine using Open Build's c-beam, and v-slot extrusion and was hoping for something on par with carbide3D's XYZ probing, or corner probing. In eluded a couple of photos of my build. Please ignore the messy shop and ball screw config on the Z :)

    IMG_0897.jpg IMG_0757.jpg
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice