Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds CONTROL Software

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Mark Carew, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,163
    Likes Received:
    1,453
    OpenBuilds_CONTROL_Software.jpg

    OpenBuilds CONTROL Software
    Hey guys, check out the all new and free OpenBuilds control software.
    OpenBuilds Machine Driver - Interface Driver for all CNC style machines (Grbl, Smoothieware)
    With this software you can:
    • Jog your CNC machine​
    • Preview, Edit and simulate Gcode​
    • Run Gcode Jobs​
    • Troubleshoot and access Machine settings​
    NOTE:This software is free to use and is in beta

    A place to discuss all things related to the OpenBuilds CONTROL Software
     
    Joe Santarsiero and GrayUK like this.
  2. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    433
    tried it earlier today. Firefox would not let me load a dxf file. Chrome was ok. Will try on the machine controller sometime, that is Linux with Firefox.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
    Firefox is a couple years behind Chrome on some of the newer tech sometimes, to be honest the standard support reply with this will be "use chrome please" :) until firefox (and the rest) embraces the wonders of modern html. Its always just going to work that little bit better under Chrome

    That said, if you do find reproducable issues, do send them over. If a fix does exist, I'll do my best to apply them (Just pushed on for the file open button for you now)

    [EDIT] Squashed 3x firefox specific bugs for you in the last half-hour or so (; [/EDIT]
     
    #3 Peter Van Der Walt, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018
    David the swarfer likes this.
  4. DavidCNC2017

    DavidCNC2017 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hello
    Anybody who has Phoenix CNC controller ( actually Arduino in different shape) could run this soft?
    For me it does not work.
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
    This software works with controllers running Grbl 1.1 (Preferably 1.1f) or Smoothieware. If your controller is Grbl compatible, maybe just update Grbl first. Or check the Serial Console tab for clues
     
  6. DavidCNC2017

    DavidCNC2017 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thank You for the answer.
    I have GRBL 1.1.e.

    But this soft still do not work. However , UGS, both regular and NetBeans Platform 8.1 works just fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
    Screenshot of the Serial Console tab please (after clicking Connect) - we do log all that happens to help with troubleshooting. Without the log, we're in the dark. Sidenote: 1.1e is kinda old. 1.1f has been out for a year and 4 months already :).
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
    Flashed a Uno with Grbl 1.1e and tested for you, works for me.
    Something in the hardware must not be 100% arduino compatible... (Disabled autoreset circuit, DTR not wired up, nonstandard Grbl startup strings, etc)

    [-> USB Connect -> When port opens, DTR fires, Grbl Resets, Grbl Sends welcome string, we detect welcome string and print it to log. If its too old, we warn you, else we pull down the settings...]

    1.1e.PNG
     
  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
    If my suspicion is correct (Cant find a schematic for the Phoenix, doesnt seem to be open source) and they didnt hook up autoreset properly, I added some code to handle the noncompliant boards. Try driver 1.0.103 or newer please OpenBuilds/SW-Machine-Drivers
     
  10. Kyo

    Kyo Master
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    619
    @DavidCNC2017
    I am not sure what chip is used on the newer and full smd phoenix boards. Assuming @Hayri PhoenixCNC is still using the same usb chip he did on the older revision of the phoenix board I once had ( MCP2221A ) @Peter Van Der Walt is correct. The board is not resetting when DTR fires due to the fact the mcp2221a does not have a DTR pin. This is the main reason I had problems with my older Gecko Controller with Laserweb. Updating my design to use a chip with a DTR line ( I personally use FT232RL now ) resolved all problems. Sadly this info does not really help those with a phoenix board as they can not swap out usb chip's Hayri would need to update his design.
     
    #10 Kyo, Oct 10, 2018 at 3:30 PM
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018 at 3:44 PM
  11. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
    Thanks for the clarification :) - either way, have a test with v 1.0.103, it should work then. Desoldered the DTR cap on the Uno while i added that code.
     
  12. DavidCNC2017

    DavidCNC2017 Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    15
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  13. Hector Beltran

    Hector Beltran Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    I am getting a WebGL not enabled error on Ubuntu 18.04. How does this software check for WebGL support hardware-wise? I ran a few test like http://helloracer/webgl and granted it is a bit slow, it passes. Ubuntu 18.04 comes preloaded with Firefox.
     
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
    Note that although you are using Firefox, we don't rely on the browser installed (Not on the Machine driver) - that ships with its own instance of Chromium wrapped in an Electron shell.

    We run a little JS code to see if the embedded browser reports it either has WebGLRenderingContext, or a Canvas with experimental-webgl context. If it doesnt, WebGL isnt available on that machine unfortunately :( - Although the tests work, theres something else on that machine thats stopping electron from having WebGL support. Try a Windows VM (; or different PC


    var webgl = (function() {
    try {
    return !!window.WebGLRenderingContext && !!document.createElement('canvas').getContext('experimental-webgl');
    } catch (e) {
    return false;
    }
    })();

    To get around the browser disabling WebGL for certain Drivers/Chip combinations, we already throw the --ignore-gpu-blacklist switch in on startup.

    I'll make a note to test out the others too - see if they cause more issues and let you know when you can test again. That said though, overrides can only get you so far :) If the chromium team doesnt like your hardware/drivers theres usually a good reason behind it

    app.commandLine.appendSwitch('ignore-gpu-blacklist', 'true')
    app.commandLine.appendSwitch('enable-gpu-rasterization', 'true')
    app.commandLine.appendSwitch('enable-zero-copy', 'true')
    app.commandLine.appendSwitch('disable-software-rasterizer', 'true')
    app.commandLine.appendSwitch('enable-native-gpu-memory-buffers', 'true')
     
  15. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
  16. Hector Beltran

    Hector Beltran Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for your quick response. Now that I have more info, I’ll try to figure out what’s going on.
    Is this application checking for WebGL v1 or v2?
     
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
    Check the docs for details: WebGLRenderingContext
    If you really want to dig in (If 1.0.104 doesnt help), you can try:
    1) Press F12 to get devtools on the Driver window
    2) Click the console tab.
    3) Check !!window.WebGLRenderingContext, !!document.createElement('canvas').getContext('experimental-webgl') and !!document.createElement('canvas').getContext('webgl') as shown below (Paste in, press enter) - if you get TRUE for even just one, we'll enable the viewer.
    webgl.PNG

    Then, you can also grab all the juicy details, by entering: window.open('chrome://gpu') [enter]
    This tells you all you need to know (Feel free to share if you want me to check it out)

    gpu.PNG
     
    #17 Peter Van Der Walt, Oct 11, 2018 at 2:16 PM
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018 at 2:24 PM
  18. Hector Beltran

    Hector Beltran Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
  19. Hector Beltran

    Hector Beltran Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi again, I was wondering if you could compile this application for ARM. I just got a new Pi 3+ with the idea of using it with my Workbee. I can run chilippr but was hoping to get this app running as well. It is currently compiled for amd64.

    Thanks
     
  20. Hector Beltran

    Hector Beltran Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Build 104 has fixed the WebGL issue on my 2009 MacBook Pro running El Capitan. Nice work!
    As you may have noticed, I am trying multiple options. I am trying to find the ideal solution. My plan has been to have a headless Raspberry Pi permanently attached to my CNC. I want to be able to remote desktop into the Pi and deploy jobs remotely. The beauty of the Pi is that it is cheap, doesn't have any fans that can get dusty, and it is tiny.
    So far with build 104:
    Ubuntu 18.04-WebGL error
    Raspbian Stretch - not working on ARM
    MacOS El Capitan works
    Windows 10 works
    MacOS Mojave works
     
  21. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
    It does compile on Pi. We just cant automate the compile yet because of a TravisCI issue. So you need to do that manually. But trust me, its not worth it, Pi is a little slow, and also doesnt have WebGL. I know i am a Pi fan too, but unfortunately Reality doesnt always play along.

    Heres my advice coming from being the guy that sees everyone's complaints (gives you a better insight than just relying on having being a cnc user for a decade or so). Stick a PC next to your CNC. You are gonna want to run CAD and CAM on it. You are gonna want good performance and reliability. And you are going to be making things more than fussing with the computer. Old PCs are FREE almost everywhere in the world. Most even nowadays have access to a free copy of Win10. Yeah, I know linux is sexy :). I have a couple linux qualifications, worked for SuSE for another decade before. But heres the reality: 98% of our userbase, runs Windows. Guess where the most testing and bugfixes end up? :) on the other hand, guess how much support time has gone into getting it running for you on Linux now. Lol (; Meanwhile the Windows folks run the EXE and away they go. WebGL just always works too :)
     
  22. Hector Beltran

    Hector Beltran Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for the advise. I use Windows mostly for work, so it wouldn’t bother me using it for my CNC. I’ll see if I can find a cheap or old (but decent) laptop for this project.
     
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    234
    :) Glad to hear! You won't be sorry :)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice