Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds CONTROL Software

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Mark Carew, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. MadYeti

    MadYeti New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys,
    Black box arrived the other day and hooked it up today. I have a homemade machine using cncrouterparts.com Acme lead screws. they are a 1/2-10 5 start screw. Trying to figure out how to set up the mm/steps for the machine. The default settings in the black box is 200mm which has the machine traveling approximately 6 inches or so. When I lower the number closer to traveling an inch, it crawls. Just needing to get this thing up and running. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Shane
     
  2. MadYeti

    MadYeti New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Newest thing is the blackbox will randomly show "undefined" in all the parameters under the GRBL settings and then the machine will do nothing. I have to shut down the software and reboot the computer to get the old settings back.

    Shane
     
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    No need to reboot: system tray, right click icon, quit. Start again

    More importantly, if it comes up like that, just hit the Refresh Settings button on the top toolbar

    Also, make sure you have the proper ftdi drivers, good USB cable etc as it shouldnt show that unless you have communications issues
     
    #663 Peter Van Der Walt, Jun 15, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2019
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Find the 'pitch' of your leadscrew (one rotation =??mm)

    Lets say its 10mm for example
    Math is:
    200 steps per rotation, at 1/8 microstep = 1600 step per rotation

    One rotation = 1600 steps per 10mm (pitch) but we need steps per mm. So 1600 / 10 = 160 steps per mm.

    Substitute your own pitch
     
  5. PatMcClintic

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    8
    Running a surfacing operation now. I noticed it offsets the start and ends of the rows by the diameter of the bit used from the edges of the perimeter. Can it be set so it starts at 0 and ends at the declared end limits? Or possibly do a perimeter cut around the edge before or after the rows start? My VCarve file I use covers the extent of my travel. This widget is leaving roughly 10mm on all edges (I have a 3/4 bottom clearing bit).
     
  6. MadYeti

    MadYeti New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1

    Thank you sir. That took care of things.

    Shane
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Let me check that next week for you! :)
     
  8. PatMcClintic

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thank you, I appreciate it!
    Something else I wonder, is if we had an option to do the operation by rows like it does now, or if we could pick spiralish squares, if that makes sense. It helps show if tramming is off in either direction. Maybe it's only helpful to me, I don't know.
     
  9. Steveathome

    Steveathome Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    25
    After tightening everything, I seem to have my shingling under control. I believe it was my aggressive plunge doing it. When I now go down in .1 mm (.0039 in) it is hardly noticeable. Even at .15 mm increments its ok. I think my 1 inch flat mortis just dug in. Am loving the software, starting to get some output now. Thanks for the help and suggestions.
     
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    The goal is still to keep things super simple for users :) too many options doesnt make thing easier :) sorry
     
  11. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    944
    I use those same lead screws. One rotation is theoretically 12.7 mm.
     
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    v1.0.178 was released earlier today

    It comes with a new 3D Viewer backend thats faster, leaner and can handle massively bigger files than before. VCarve finishing passes? No problem anymore!

    If you find issues related to Gcode parsing/simulator/3d Viewing - please open issues on Git: OpenBuilds/OpenBuilds-CONTROL
     
    David the swarfer likes this.
  13. Los215

    Los215 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anybody knows what this means im using cambam 20190617_181433.jpg
     
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Means your Cambam setup is not using a Grbl compatible Post Processor. Grbl only understands a subset of the Gcode, probably doesnt like G64 and G40.
    G21=millimeter mode
    G90 = absolute coordinates

    Check Cambam docs/forum for Grbl Post Processor info
     
  15. Award

    Award Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    33
    Grbl doesn't support the G64 command so it is having a sulk!

    Here's the list of what it does support: gnea/grbl

    Cheers

    Adam

    My apologies Peter got in there first!
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  16. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    660
    @Peter Van Der Walt Are the macros and keystroke mappings stored on the computer? So if I swap in a different computer I have to setup everything again?
     
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    I'll add a Backup/Restore button in a couple days.

    For now:

    1. Press F12 to open Devtools on PC where you want to backup buttons
    2. On CONSOLE tab in Devtools, run: localStorage.getItem('macroButtons')
    3. Copy the JSON string outputted (and get it across to the other PCs clipboard (save to text file, copy to that pc, select content, copy on other pc or similar)

    On the PC where you want to import the Backup:
    1. Press F12 to open Devtools
    2. On the CONSOLE tab paste localStorage.setItem('macroButtons', '<Paste JSON String here between the single parenthesis>') and press enter
    3. Run populateMacroButtons();

    Screenshot (note backup and restore ran on same instance... follow instructions for two PCs
    backup and restore.PNG
     
    David the swarfer and sharmstr like this.
  18. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    660
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    sharmstr likes this.
  20. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    660
  21. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    done! (; i am soooo deep in the CAM code (adding webworkers to speed things up) I just went to the CAM repo on autopilot! Sorry!
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  22. Lloyd Downunder

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    gyday guys
    have finally fitted and wired up my new BLACK BOX, plugged in the USB get green light. OK.
    using Openbuilds Controller , shows the COM port. now connect???? OK.
    it now runs the log, when finished says ,"no supported firmware detected. closing port com1." ??
    i was told that GRBL was pre flashed , before i received it. apparently not???
    i plugged in the other BBox (yep 2 of them), both brand new. same answer. ??
    Please explain.
     
  23. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    876
    it is 'never' com1, drop that list down and find the real com port (-:
     
    Lloyd Downunder likes this.
  24. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    And make sure you have the FTDI drivers installed for it to show up in the list Virtual COM Port Drivers
     
  25. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Also test with everything but USB unplugged. Just USB nothing else, as wiring mistakes can cause it not to run properly
     
  26. Lloyd Downunder

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks David
    will try that. good to know.
    Lloyd
     
  27. Lloyd Downunder

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks Peter
    i do understand that.
    lloyd
     
  28. Lloyd Downunder

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    down loaded the port drivers OK.
    using the jog motion i can move the Z axis no prob, now the X/Y shudders /vibrate but dosnt move.
    it did before the BOXs
    tryed the calc , it dosent explain enough, as i have a 20 to 60 cog, belt system ?? what do i use??

    Lloyd.
     
  29. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    876
    put in an initial value of 100 steps/mm, then correct it with the wizard 3 times.

    doesn't move? adjust the motor current according to the instructions.
     
  30. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Check wiring, loose connections (1 loose wire of the three) causes similar. It's only as good as you wire it :)
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    [email protected]

  • Follow us on Instagram

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice