Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Rotary axis for Workbee

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Alex Chambers, Jan 4, 2021.

  1. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    788
    Alex Chambers published a new build:

    Read more about this build...
     
  2. GeoffH

    GeoffH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    106
    Hi Alex, good to see that you are busy.
    A bit confused because I haven't seen Giarc's build (if you have a link to it that would help), so here's a dumb starter question from me - are you building a lathe, a rotary axis or both?
    Geoff
     
  3. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    788
    @Giarc's post is here;

    LEAD Lathe

    I'm adding a rotary axis - so not a lathe. The sad part is that I'm using Fusion 360 to design the fittings I need to modify the workbee, but Autodesk have removed 4th axis facilities for hobby users.
    Alex.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  4. GeoffH

    GeoffH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    106
    Ok, yes I noticed the Fusion changes, hopefully they aren't planning any others:). The Wrapped Rotary Job Type in Vcarve should enable you to do the CAM, but I guess with limited design features?
    Have you purchased a Rotary system similar to Giarc?
    Geoff
     
  5. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    788
    Exactly the same one as Giarc I think.
    Alex.
     
  6. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    788
    Now I just need to source some 20/80 x 1000 mm and I can get on with fitting these new end plates.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  7. GeoffH

    GeoffH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    106
  8. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    788
  9. GeoffH

    GeoffH Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    106
  10. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    788
    Something I'd not noticed before - cutting my fourth plate, penultimate pass on the profile cut (ie last operation) and the bit came out of the collet - ie lowered itself. The Duet firmware doesn't allow you to reset Z in mid job! Had to reset and run the whole toolpath again!
    Alex.
     
  11. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    788
    The grade they sell at Aluminium Warehouse which is machinable is 6082 T6.
    Alex.
     
    #11 Alex Chambers, Jan 6, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2021

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice