Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds CONTROL Software

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by Mark Carew, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. Grant111111111

    Grant111111111 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,
    I am using a smoothieboard, I see that there is no more support for it? I am sure there are many more users that have smoothieboards.
    thanks for all the excellent work on the software
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    RPI is not officially supported, therefore this nice warning at the top of the Wiki:

    "Instructions below are provided as-is and expects the user to be fluent in Linux, Electron, NodeJS and Git commands. No support or assistance will be provided, this instructions is for those who want to venture where there is no support. You are on your own! :) Have fun!"

    The steps worked for me when I tried, thats all I can vouch for. Google some of the errors, work the problem :) speak to your Linux geek in the basement (;
     
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    We only get the list of ports from the OS, so if you cant disable it in Hardware, disable it in Device manager.
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    Smoothieware is not supported, but Smoothieboard is: just install Grbl-LPC: cprezzi/grbl-LPC
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    Will check this week
     
  6. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    33
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Grant111111111

    Grant111111111 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok thank you, sorted out :)
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  8. tbirdglenn

    tbirdglenn Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    FYI disabling did not work. Uninstalling COM1 did work. Thanks.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  9. kam

    kam Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    I love the new jog feature. You can turn your jog feed down and do corrective milling with this for a quick fix.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    Hi Jeff

    Yeah thats tiny GCODE! :) Should not be the reason for the hangs at all! Its only using about 29mb of video RAM (very little) to render

    So, time to see when it happens whats going on on the PC.

    If you run Task manager, and click on the Processes Tab -> More Details, find the OpenBuildsCONTROL process. Check what the CPU/RAM/DISK stats are when it flakes out.
    Also sort those colums by each in turn, and see if theres maybe some other software running on your machine that eats the performance
     
  11. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    Try v1.0.175: OpenBuilds/OpenBuilds-CONTROL
     
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    You can click on the numbers in the DRO
    Then type a new GOTO value in (so note its absolute, not relative. If you are on say -10, and want to go down by 0.05mm, type in -10.05[enter]). Or hit setzero first, then type a number (; no maths needed hehe
    click and goto.png
     
  13. NthAxisWorkshop

    NthAxisWorkshop Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yup, when I also try to compile this for Raspbian Stretch it bellies up. The force on for the unsigned repositories work, however, the Raspbian LXDE windows manager breaks after the C library upgrades. And npm build fails. I'll try and get a verbose >> dump for the next time I go at it. Been thinking on trying it on Ubuntu-Mate Pi. It's likely to have all the C libraries updated to 2.27 already..(I hope.)
     
  14. tbirdglenn

    tbirdglenn Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    OK. I learned something. It's not as handy as a custom incremental jog that can be repeated in any axis direction, but I see how it can be done by setting zero each time and inputting the same +/- value over and over again.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  15. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    (; and that's exactly why it says "Instructions below are provided as-is and expects the user to be fluent in Linux, Electron, NodeJS and Git commands. No support or assistance will be provided, this instructions is for those who want to venture where there is no support. You are on your own! :) Have fun!" at the top of the wiki. It can be done, it worked at the time of writing (maybe some dependancy had an update in between) - but we cannot spend time on fixing it (Instructions are provided as a courtesy, but Pi will never be an officially targetted platform), please have a go, and if you find a way, happy to add fixes you find to the Wiki. Ubuntu mate vs Raspbian - probably true, don't mind having a seperate page for different distros either.

    Electron 4.0.0 uses a too recent glibc for Raspberry PI · Issue #16205 · electron/electron says Debian Buster works
     
    #645 Peter Van Der Walt, Jun 4, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2019
  16. Divvi

    Divvi Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep, sounds like the same experience I've had. LDXE configuration gets altered and becomes unusable as you can't move/close windows. Did you try the full Stretch image with additional software? That was going to be my next step to see if it has more recent libraries.
     
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
  18. ljvb

    ljvb Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    25
    not to run afoul of forums rules possible suggesting competing projects (if that exists, sorry), but just use cncjs (I have no affiliation with them in anyway). It runs just fine on RPI. I have been using it, works fine. I am using an RPI with a POE hat.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    Not at all a problem. OpenBuildsCONTROL has the main purpose of "Easy, beginner friendly software" and we kinda hope you eventually outgrow it as your skill builds, because thats how we all become better makers. By growing! We cannot accomodate all the advanced functionality and still keep it stripped down and easy to understand. So therefore, no problem moving to CNCjs, or bCNC or any other Grbl host. Thats the awesome thing about an Open ecosystem, you have choices :)
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  20. RV6APilot

    RV6APilot Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    22
    @Peter Van Der Walt Thank you for all the hard work you have put into this. This is easily the easiest control and cam
    software that I have used. May not be Mach3/4 but it more than does everything that I need and then some.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  21. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    My (our) pleasure! We keep the advanced stuff out of it to make it easier for new users to get the hang of things :) rather master of easy, than jack of all trades :)
     
    RV6APilot likes this.
  22. Los215

    Los215 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont know why but when i load a gcode into my control software i dont get no preview or picture of the work to be made any help will be appreciated
     
  23. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    Post the gcode here
     
  24. Los215

    Los215 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its the sample hello world cnc i tried multiple gcodes and the all run fine but the software dont show me the drawing of the gcode
     
  25. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    Check the Serial Log tab on startup will probably say No WebGL support. Ie PC specs, doesnt have proper WebGL support.
     
  26. Los215

    Los215 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is there something i can do about it or i just wont be able to see the preview
     
  27. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    If the error says No WebGL. Then basically your PCs graphics card is too old. Get a better pc, upgrade graphics card, make sure graphics card supports WebGL, and update drivers
     
  28. Los215

    Los215 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok i will try that thanks for the help
     
  29. tbirdglenn

    tbirdglenn Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi Peter, Thank you for fixing the keyboard hooks in the macro editor. Your comment that you are the 'Master of Easy' is an understatement.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  30. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    815
    Our pleasure! And thanks for the kind words!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice