Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds CAM Software

Discussion in 'CAM' started by Mark Carew, Oct 8, 2018.

  1. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    OpenBuilds CAM Software
    Hey guys, check out the all new and free OpenBuilds CAM software.
    OpenBuilds CAM - Cloud based software for converting DXF, SVG, Bitmap (BMP, JPG, PNG, GIF) and Gerber X274 to GCODE

    Access it live at https://cam.openbuilds.com

    ZebraCAM.jpg

    With this software you can:
    • Load your artwork
    • Create machining toolpaths to your designs
    • Generate Gcode
    Tips and Tricks: See Things you didn't Know about OpenBuilds Software

    Work up some artwork for your machine today!
    NOTE:This software is free to use and is in beta

    A place to discuss all things related to the OpenBuilds CAM Software
     
    #1 Mark Carew, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 16, 2019
  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    127
    I'm trying to import an svg. The import drops several lines. Here's what it should look like.

    Orig.png

    And here's what it looks like after opening in the CAM software

    OB-Cam.png
     
  3. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    571
    Can you save it as a .dxf maybe? Just a suggestion to try if you are in a hurry. I am not familiar with the software, but I thought it works with .dxf.
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
    SVG is supported, but NB that the entities be "paths" (In inkscape, Select all, Path, Object to Path, google how to Convert to Paths for the SVG editor you use). - probably those corners were not exported as Path entities.

    @Giarc, it support SVG (paths), Bitmaps (Gets traced to vector using potrace on the fly), DXF (R12 Polyline, no Splines supported, Explode to Polyline in your CAD), Gerber 274x (Vector Data) and Excellon Drill files as inputs
     
    Giarc and sharmstr like this.
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
  6. Award

    Award Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello Peter,

    Firstly, thank you very much for your Open Builds CAM Software and the obvious work that has gone into it. I have been able get up and running on my machine very easily and I have zero experience with CAM. My disclaimer for the information below is that it was my very first time using it and I was over excited about getting my CNC machine to do something!

    I've found a bug/end user problem which happens in the Configure Toolpath. If you choose a Cut Type of Vector (no offset) and set the Cut Depth; per Pass to 0mm (I wanted to just draw a circle with a pen taped to my router) and press Apply and Preview Toolpath. At that point it has a sulk when calculating as it knows that I don't have a clue what I'm doing. End result is Chrome gives you an Aw Snap message. Not sure if is worth checking user input isn't zero? Probably unlikely to happen very often as everyone on here seems pretty clued up.

    On the upside I have solved that problem and now drawn my very first circle using my cnc machine.
     
  7. Adam Filipowicz

    Adam Filipowicz Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    98
    Will you be offering Duet Controller support?
     
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
    OpenBuilds CAM: You can already, instead of selecting a board on the Settings -> Settings page, just scroll down to step 4 and customise the GCODE Dialect as required by DUET (Any start/end gcodes (for example the needed CNC mode gcodes from Configuring RepRapFirmware for a CNC machine etc - IE M453 in Start GCODE, etc) , Which commands to use for rapid/linear/spindle/etc > Once you have a nicely working setup send me a screenshot and I'll incorporate it into a predefined board so you can just select the dropdown in the future)
    OpenBuilds CONTROL: Not at this time, but you'll probably just upload the GCODE using the webinterface or SD?
     
  9. Freddie Stemmler

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I truly like the simplicity of the CAM software you guys have for your OpenBuilds CONTROL software they work great together but could you please come up with or figure out a way to make your OpenBuilds CAM software downloadable like the other not only because it would be better to not always have to be online to use it but it would be nice to just install the OpenBuilds CAM software on the computer itself. Thanks!
     
  10. NthAxisWorkshop

    NthAxisWorkshop Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hello everyone at OB Team! I'm diggin the OBControl page complete with configurator for GRBL. I dig the direction yall are taking with the CAM page... BUT... Eh, ahem...

    First, forget about programmatically reinventing / recreating a Vector Design WebAPP... we have plenty of ways to generate content for our machines. Too many softs want to try to create some all in one solution or various flavors of the same product with tiered feature solutions. Bah. :banghead:

    - Instead, focus on GCODE / toolpath manipulation! - Yes! :thumbsup:

    No really OB Team , I know you geniuses have a few wizardly tricks up your collective sleeves! And I have a couple of feature requests that I think will help differentiate yall from the rest of the "browser based" crowd:
    1. Toolpath tiling, arrays and transforms - These functions are stupendously valuable features that are really only offered by the $$$ box softs like Vcarve Pro, and or wonkily/poorly executed in Fusion360 Cam scripts. Shoot, I'd pay a monthly premium for an easy to use toolpath duplicating, layout (nesting) and tiling toolbox / widget. Think Illustrator CC transforms tool panel.
    2. A "Send to Cut" button for the individual tool path operations - Really, a must. Who likes to scroll through hundreds of lines of gcode just to mark and re-run one component of ten profile cuts because one didn't cut all the way through. Ugh. :duh:
    3. Toolpath groups - Like the Document / Component view with nesting and parent/child inheritance, but for hiding and activating grouped cut operations. Really Cool.
    4. Quick Dogbones, Inlay tools, add raster roughing / clearing methods and finishing techniques to advanced pocket toolpath settings.
    You know... the works!:D

    Well, now that I've shot for the moon, lets talk about 3d carving.... - Ha! Just kidding! Who needs that stuff anyways!
    Thanks for listening guys. Peace out.
    - Roland.
     
    #10 NthAxisWorkshop, Feb 25, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2019
  11. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
    There are more advantages to keeping it hosted, than the one disadvantage.
    Being online allows for super fast bugfixes, improvements, and integration with other software packages (more coming this year, once the whole ecosystem is built you'll understand more about this section).

    The only real inconvenience, is that you need internet access on the machine where you prepare your CAM. For me, thats the PC in the airconditioned office: CAD and CAM can take some time, once I have my GCODE, on a flash drive, I walk to the garage, and run it from there. If you only have one PC and its outside the network, consider a couple $15 wifi extenders (; well worth it. Embrace the future
     
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
    Thanks for the Feedback - checkout the existing plans OpenBuilds/cam too, some (not all your requests, but some like transforms: Boolean operations, Mirroring, etc) are already open as issues.

    The focus isn't on being CAD though, its CAM primarilly. Also, its BASIC CAM. Its there to lower entry for new users. We actually HOPE you outgrow OpenBuilds CAM as your skills build. This way of thinking prevents feature creep, that in turn raises the barrier to entry for new users again :)

    I do like your Send Toolpath button idea though - that one might just make it in (;



     
  13. Michael Majerus

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    using the current Beta the web link takes us to. I have been trying to import a DXF drawing. I can't get the design moved to the right coordinates. every time I move the designs one point on each structure fly’s off to never never land. I’m uploading the dxf file I am using. any help with this would be great.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
    Where's the DXF from? Did you export it yourself (If yes, ensure you are using DXF R14 Polyline format)
    If its from somewhere online, you'd need to ask the author to export it as DXF R14 Polyline format. The DXF contains Splines/Curves which we do not support, they need to be converted/exported as POLYLINEs

     
  15. Michael Majerus

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry about asking in 2 places after I first posted I could not find the post anymore. anyway I made the DXF myself. I will double check but I ussualy make everything a poly line when I lay it out. I will go back and try.
     
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
    All good :) just makes it easier for the next person using the search function if an ongoing issue continues in one place :)

    I tried importing the DXF into Sketchup here, and even in that the rounded corners fail - which tells me straight away its splines/curves :)
     
  17. Michael Majerus

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    every structure that is having the problem is a closed polyline. I can leave them as open polylines then I can move them. but then I can't get the cuts right. the CNC pocket will not work.
    I can make the tool paths without moving the structures with the original but I I can't move it to the work surface.
     
  18. Michael Majerus

    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    in AutoCAD it tells me they are Polylines
     
  19. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
    #19 Peter Van Der Walt, Feb 26, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2019
  20. Ryan Allen

    Ryan Allen Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys! I Love your software. Is there a way to pick the order in what gets cut first. I have to cut 100 squares. I would like it to cut row to row but it just goes all over.
    Thanks,
    Ryan
     
  21. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
    The algorithm follows the order the entities appear in the dxf. If you want a specific order, create multiple toolpaths, selecting entities in the order you need them
     
  22. Ryan Allen

    Ryan Allen Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks yes I was working in SVG had the same result on DXF. No mater how I ordered the XML it just randomly adds the objects. Do you know what the algorithm is looking for when it orders them. It works great in JSCUT but the gcode export is so long and has issues with 30" x 30" patterns . Below is a XML order I made. Does the algorithm go off just a location? Thanks just trying to see if there is a better way then hand selecting each tool path and setting each one up.

    <path
    style="fill:none;fill-opacity:1;stroke:#000000;stroke-width:0.1573229;stroke-miterlimit:4;stroke-dasharray:none;stroke-opacity:1"
    d="m 243.68315,84.481148 h 34.18348 V 50.297672 h -34.18348 z"
    id="10"
    inkscape:connector-curvature="0"
    sodipodi:nodetypes="ccccc"
    inkscape:label="#rect2180-5-62-1-1-71" />
    <path
    style="fill:none;fill-opacity:1;stroke:#000000;stroke-width:0.1573229;stroke-miterlimit:4;stroke-dasharray:none;stroke-opacity:1"
    d="m 243.68315,125.12113 h 34.18348 V 90.937653 h -34.18348 z"
    id="9"
    inkscape:connector-curvature="0"
    sodipodi:nodetypes="ccccc"
    inkscape:label="#rect2180-5-62-6-3-8" />
    <path
    style="fill:none;fill-opacity:1;stroke:#000000;stroke-width:0.1573229;stroke-miterlimit:4;stroke-dasharray:none;stroke-opacity:1"
    d="m 243.68315,165.76117 h 34.18348 V 131.5777 h -34.18348 z"
    id="8"
    inkscape:connector-curvature="0"
    sodipodi:nodetypes="ccccc"
    inkscape:label="#rect2180-5-62-29-4" />
    <path
    style="fill:none;fill-opacity:1;stroke:#000000;stroke-width:0.1573229;stroke-miterlimit:4;stroke-dasharray:none;stroke-opacity:1"
    d="m 243.68315,206.40114 h 34.18348 v -34.18347 h -34.18348 z"
    id="7"
    inkscape:connector-curvature="0"
    sodipodi:nodetypes="ccccc"
    inkscape:label="#rect2180-5-60-1-50" />
    <path
    style="fill:none;fill-opacity:1;stroke:#000000;stroke-width:0.1573229;stroke-miterlimit:4;stroke-dasharray:none;stroke-opacity:1"
    d="m 243.68315,247.04116 h 34.18348 v -34.18348 h -34.18348 z"
    id="6"
    inkscape:connector-curvature="0"
    sodipodi:nodetypes="ccccc"
    inkscape:label="#rect2180-5-0-6-9" />
    <path
    style="fill:none;fill-opacity:1;stroke:#000000;stroke-width:0.1573229;stroke-miterlimit:4;stroke-dasharray:none;stroke-opacity:1"
    d="m 243.68315,287.68117 h 34.18348 V 253.4977 h -34.18348 z"
    id="5"
    inkscape:connector-curvature="0"
    sodipodi:nodetypes="ccccc"
    inkscape:label="#rect2180-5-27-3-4" />
    <path
    style="fill:none;fill-opacity:1;stroke:#000000;stroke-width:0.1573229;stroke-miterlimit:4;stroke-dasharray:none;stroke-opacity:1"
    d="m 243.68315,328.32117 h 34.18348 V 294.1377 h -34.18348 z"
    id="4"
    inkscape:connector-curvature="0"
    sodipodi:nodetypes="ccccc"
    inkscape:label="#rect2180-5-1-7-6" />
    <path
    style="fill:none;fill-opacity:1;stroke:#000000;stroke-width:0.1573229;stroke-miterlimit:4;stroke-dasharray:none;stroke-opacity:1"
    d="m 243.68315,368.96112 h 34.18348 v -34.18347 h -34.18348 z"
    id="3"
    inkscape:connector-curvature="0"
    sodipodi:nodetypes="ccccc"
    inkscape:label="#rect2180-5-9-9-6" />
    <path
    style="fill:none;fill-opacity:1;stroke:#000000;stroke-width:0.1573229;stroke-miterlimit:4;stroke-dasharray:none;stroke-opacity:1"
    d="m 243.68315,409.60114 h 34.18348 v -34.18348 h -34.18348 z"
    id="2"
    inkscape:connector-curvature="0"
    sodipodi:nodetypes="ccccc"
    inkscape:label="#rect2180-5-2-8-2" />
    <path
    style="fill:none;fill-opacity:1;stroke:#000000;stroke-width:0.1573229;stroke-miterlimit:4;stroke-dasharray:none;stroke-opacity:1"
    d="m 243.68315,450.24115 h 34.18348 v -34.18347 h -34.18348 z"
    id="1"
    inkscape:connector-curvature="0"
    sodipodi:nodetypes="ccccc"
    inkscape:label="1" />
     
  23. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    510
    I suppose I should'nt mention here that SketchUcam under Sketchup cuts in group order, and you can re-order the groups to what you want aaaand within a group cuts will be optimized for shortest path.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  24. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
    (; no objection! We're all about freedom of choice
     
  25. Ryan Allen

    Ryan Allen Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Awesome, I mostly deal in Linux and installed the open builds cam on a RPI so I can access it on the shop floor. I watched that you-tube video. I have to see if I can use playonlinux to get sketchucam installed. Open builds you guys rock! If you add grouping or where people can change the document sort I think that's what it follows? But traveling back and forth 700 mm from one hole to the the next skipping everything in the middle takes a toll on slop, time and cleaning chips.
    Thanks guys,
     
  26. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454

    Been on the Todo for a while, but priorities :) - here and there you a get a file that wastes some time, but often it is good enough. So the more pressing updates gets a chance before we get to that
     
  27. Ryan Allen

    Ryan Allen Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I understand. I dev stuff to and use your framing and slides love them! Do you know what file runs the document import part may play with your files a bit.
    Thanks,
    Ryan
     
  28. Ryan Allen

    Ryan Allen Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't want to spam this thread up. But I found out how to set it up to run object to object.
    1. If I ID all the XML objects in the SVG a number 1-100 (not sure if they need to be in order just a id)
    2. Changed file advanced-cam-geometryutils.js
    3. In two spots the code (i = 0; i < objectsInScene.length; i++) {
    4. Changed it (i = 0; i < objectsInScene.name; i++) {


    The simulation works I will try it later today for real!!! Thanks for providing the code to this guys!!
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  29. sitoru

    sitoru New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you keep the view from orbiting? trying to move anything will make the view orbit also
     
  30. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    454
    Use the move tool on the left. 3 button mouse is assumed
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice