Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

New to CNC but not computers looking for entry cnc for inlay and to learn!

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Archtop67, Sep 4, 2020.

1. Archtop67

Archtop67 New
    Builder

Hi all, im new to cnc but not computers, however im not quite ready or have place for a large cnc machine and cost but i do need to do inlay, wood and pearl mostly and would like to setup a small cnc to do this and to learn and work into a larger machine as needed.. literally small 5 inches by 5 inches would be actually generous! lol just something small and fun and can learn the software side of this better! wasnt sure where to post this hopefully this is ok!

2. Rob Taylor

Rob Taylor Master
    Builder

MiniMill or C-Beam Machine, if you want off-the-shelf, ASAP, developed for you.

I'd go C-Beam- it's gantry-style, so you'll get used to visualising "moving head" rather than "moving table", it's got a little extra room- maybe 3" around the outsides of your 5" square- for workholding (which you could well find you need), but it's not so big that it's unmanageable, unusable on a desktop, or loses rigidity. It's about a 20" square with a 12x12" envelope or thereabouts.

3. Archtop67

Archtop67 New
    Builder

great Ill check it out! im not opposed to building either! looking for way to get stareted.. thanks Rob!

4. Archtop67

Archtop67 New
    Builder