Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

help with sphinx 1000x850

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Adil Gandara, Oct 28, 2018.

  1. Adil Gandara

    Adil Gandara Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    hello openbiulds
    I'm having issues on a sphinx cnc built that I'm currently working on. I have wired up a xpro-v3 to 4 dq542ma controllers and was able to get movement on all 3 axis but I have realized that I am not getting the correct travel on each axis for example, I jog the motor 100 mm and only travels 20 mm. This is the same on all axis's. I'm wondering if this is something i wired incorrectly or if its related to settings. please advise on what i should do. i'm currently using recommend setting form sphinx 55 tutorial video with modified dimensions
     
  2. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    What do you have entered in GRBL for your $100, 101, and 102? You should start with these if you have your xpro set for 1/8 microstepping:

    $100=199.100 (x, step/mm)
    $101=199.100 (y, step/mm)
    $102=199.100 (z, step/mm)

    Form the SPhinx build page:
     
  3. Adil Gandara

    Adil Gandara Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Those are the exact values I have for my steps per millimeter Should I increase the values. Also the machine is traveling slow this may be associated to the problem?
     
  4. Kevon Ritter

    Kevon Ritter Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    131
    Just to confirm, do you have it set for 1/8 stepping?
     
  5. Adil Gandara

    Adil Gandara Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the dq542ma set at 1600 with the dip switch’s and I have 199.100 for $100,$101,$102 is there anything eles I need to do to have 1/8 stepping?
     
  6. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    Is there possibly something on the xpro that needs changing when using external drivers? I have never seen or used one. I just use an Arduino board with my DQ542MA drivers.
     
  7. Adil Gandara

    Adil Gandara Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    In order for me to get the proper travel On the CNC I had to set steps/mm at 999.1 is this the correct method of fixing the issue or will it cause problems?
     
  8. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    Did you buy the Sphinx as a kit, or are the drive screws perhaps only moving the nut 2mm per rotation vs 8mm of the kit screws? That would cause your machine to only go 25% the distance you tell it to and it would be much slower. Those GRBL settings were for the Tr8*8-2p (4 starts) screws.
     
  9. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    Is the machine also moving faster? If you had a different type of lead screw (as I mentioned above), than this would be the way to fix it. Although if it was a 2mm pitch it should be around 800 steps/mm. However, you may want to experiment with the acceleration settings. I wish I knew more about the xpro with external steppers so I could be of more assistance.
     
  10. Adil Gandara

    Adil Gandara Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I ordered all parts form openbiulds so yes I’m using tr8*8-2p Is there a different method of controlling the cnc Without the use of an xpro
    I am runing hi torque NEMA 23 and would like to still us the dq542ma Drivers
     
  11. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    I would wait for someone more knowledgeable than me with regards to the Xpro to chime in, or reach out to the Xpro customer service. I did just find this Hooking Up External Drivers to the CNC xPRO V3 I know people have successfully used it to drive external steppers.

    If you do decide to go the Arduino path, this is the GRBL pin layout for Arduino. gnea/grbl
    [​IMG]
    I used an arduino board, and to make it a little easier to connect everything, I added an arduino screw shield and attached a couple more screw terminals for XYZ 5v enable/disabler and ground. I used these diagrams from the original sphinx build by Kyo. Kyo used an arduino nano with a rasberry Pi. I just used an arduino with a screw shield and connected it to my computer to send the gcode. Also, this is a great resource. UNO GRBL DQ542MA Wiring Methods

    Here is what I did with the shield. However, since this photo, GRBL has swapped the Z imit and spindle enable pins.
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    This was from the end of the Xpro document and maybe has something to do with your problem
    ***Edit. Disregard this. I thought this had something to do with the xpro but it is for the external drivers. I wonder if the Xpro has to have the jumpers for each axis set to Full steps for external drivers?
     
    #12 Giarc, Oct 28, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2018
  13. Adil Gandara

    Adil Gandara Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    These are the settings I have for The X pro and the drivers dip switches and the method I use in connecting these drivers this is a sphinx build
    Maybe there is something that I’ve overlooked when setting up the machine
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Adil Gandara

    Adil Gandara Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you
     
  15. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    is there a chance your dip switches are inadvertently set to off off on on (vs. on on off off) which is 8000 pulses per step (8000 pulses/200 steps =1/40 microstepping) whereas the Sphinx is set up at 1600/200=8 or 1/8 microstepping? You are off by 1/5 of what you are expecting. The drivers are not easily read which lead me to make a similar error on my laser build.
     
    joe williams and GrayUK like this.
  16. Adil Gandara

    Adil Gandara Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you so much that was the actual issue I think the problem is fixed now
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  17. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    445
    That is great to hear. I was trying to figure out how it could be off by the 1/5 ratio. That was the first time I had seen it.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice