Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

UNO GRBL DQ542MA Wiring Methods

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Kyo, Feb 28, 2017.

  1. Kyo

    Kyo Master
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    653
    Arduino Uno running grbl V1.1 and the different ways we can wire up drivers from the Open Builds Part Store.



    One of the more common questions I get emailed is how I wire up the dq542ma drivers available from Openbuilds. In this video I go over each of the ways I have wired and run the external wantai drivers. Did I miss a method? Is one of the options shown better then the others? Feel free to let me know:D I am always up to give it a try and learn something new.

    Feel free to grab your self some extra parts with your next openbuilds order and give it a try yourself ! One of the best ways to learn / understand in my experience is to dive in and give it a go yourself :thumbsup:

    Arduino Uno "Here"
    Barrier Strips "Here"
    Power Supply "Here"
    DQ542MA Drive "Here"
    Nema 23 Motor "Here"
     
    Walkinman, TrishC, snokid and 2 others like this.
  2. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    481
    pointing with leadscrew ===> BOSS LEVEL (-;

    PS thanks for using a tripod for the camera
     
    Giarc, Mark Carew and Kyo like this.
  3. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    481
    snokid and billydl like this.
  4. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    1,619
    Really nice job on this tutorial video @Kyo :thumbsup:
    You really hit the nail on the head with this as we have been needing a simple explanation style video that helps Builders to understand how to connect the drivers.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to create and share this.
    @David the swarfer these are really cool! I didn't know about them, thank you for the share.
    Mark
     
    David the swarfer likes this.
  5. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    513
    Thanks. I am linking this in my build since people have asked me over there. I try to send them your way since you do a better job explaining it. :thumbsup:
     
    Kyo likes this.
  6. Kyo

    Kyo Master
    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    653
    No problem Mark, I am always happy to give back to the community :thumbsup: I only know what I do now from others who shared before me. :D
     
    TrishC and Mark Carew like this.
  7. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    87
    I've watched the video at least 5 times. Thank you for posting.

    I just upgraded my machine to use the 542s. They ran great using your first method. I'm redoing my control box and want to wire it up without the enable wires hooked up. Is there any downside in doing it this way? You dont mention any negatives in your video, but its been awhile and just making sure you havent come across anything.
     
  8. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    481
    I have no enable lines hooked and it all works perfectly....
    I do have a power switch on the stepper PSU that I use as a 'emergency stop'.
    I plan to hook that switch's other terminals to the Uno so GRBL knows there is a stop, but have not got to it yet.

    Having the switch also means I can goto MCS and then power off the motors while I fiddle with software, otherwise they do get a bit hot.
    When I power on again I can goto G54 and it lines up just fine.
     
  9. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    87
    Great! It sure make for a less cluttered cabinet.

    Do you mind explaining this? " I can goto MCS and then power off the motors".
     
  10. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    481
    sure can. MCS= Machine Coordinate System, ie the system where home is defined (1).
    WCS = Work Coordinate System, one of G54 to G59, what you set when you click one of the axis 'set zero' buttons.
    GRBL saves this as an offset from the MCS.

    for GUI I use bCNC and it gives me the option of creating macro buttons. These buttons allow one to set any Gcode and run it with just a click.
    So I have an MCS button that does this
    G90 G17 ; make sure we have absolute mode and the XY plane set
    G53 G0 Z0 ; raise Z to home
    G53 G0 X0 Y0 ; go home, this is machine home, not work home

    then I have another macro button for WCS
    G90 G17
    G53 G0 Z0 ; raise Z to safety
    G0 X0 Y0 ; go to work coordinates 0,0

    To use machine coordinates you have to give it G53 on every line, otherwise it will use the currently active work coordinate system.

    (1) what defines home?
    if you have no home limit switches then home is defined as 'where GRBL turned on or reset'. This can be anywhere BUT make sure Z is as high as it will go. This is a critical safety setting since most Gcode generators assume the G53 G0 Z0 is 'safe' for any further movement. (GRBL will also default G28 to this place).

    If you have home limit switches then home is where it homed + or - some offset. In this case one may need to use
    G53 G0 Z-5
    G53 G0 X-10 Y-10
    to avoid hitting the limit switches.
     
    halfshavedyaks likes this.
  11. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    87
    Gotcha. For whatever reason, I was thinking MCS was software I've never heard of. I blame Sunday :)

    Like you, my plan is to hook up an estop to the psu and the arduino. Thank you!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice