Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

1000 x 1000 Workbee powered by X controller

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by gonzachus, Apr 17, 2018.

  1. gonzachus

    gonzachus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    16
    gonzachus published a new build:

    Read more about this build...
     
  2. GrayUK

    GrayUK Openbuilds Team Elder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    616
    You've done a good job there by the looks of it! :D
    Well Done :thumbsup::thumbsup:
     
  3. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    261
    Nice machine! Liking the use of the x-controller. Good to see that it is possible! Out of interest what is that router you have on there?
     
  4. gonzachus

    gonzachus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    16
    I am using the Hitachi M12VC. It is an 83mm router in case anyone goes this route and needs to mount one. It seems to be working well so far and I liked that the RPMs go from 8-24k.
     
    Ryan Lock likes this.
  5. gonzachus

    gonzachus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks Gray! It was a little bit of work to get to this point.
     
  6. CNCKitCompany

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    11
    Very nice build there @gonzachus I too like the idea of using the X-Controller and Easel. I hadn't considered that as an option and it would make it a good experience for those really new to CNC or just want something super simple that is well supported and growing.
     
  7. dlhoulton

    dlhoulton New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    Great build gonzachus. How has the X-Controller been performing? Can you give any details on what you had to do if any to get the controller to work with your machine? I'm considering building the Workbee 1010 and would like the simplicity of using the X-Controller to run it. I'm guessing right off that one would have to switch around the wiring for the stepper motors ( Y axis) to get them to run in sync. Have you installed any homing/limit switches? Any help or advise would greatly be appreciated.
     
  8. gonzachus

    gonzachus New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    16
    It has been performing like a champ! As a CNC beginner I was able to get it up and running very quickly. You don't have to reverse any of the wiring, the X-controller walks you through the setup and you can reverse any movement through the software. I did have a few issues with larger carves losing steps, but I solved that by turning up the power on the controller to account for the mass of the workbee.

    I haven't had as much luck with the limit/homing switches though. I believe that the x-carve has theirs in different places so I cannot guarantee that they are compatible. It has been low on my priority list though, I haven't been carving at the outer edges of my capability and I haven't rammed the edge yet.

    I hope that helps.
     
    MaryD likes this.
  9. DOBIJA

    DOBIJA New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Witam serdecznie mały sprzęt i wentylator moich frezarek, ale niestety nie stać mnie na to, ponieważ jest to życie, które muszę zatrzymać i nigdy nie żałować takiej sumy, jeśli moje marzenie ma taką frezarkę.


    Pozdrawiam właścicieli CNC z fantastycznymi pomysłami.
     
  10. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Did you ever get the limit/homing switches? Just curious about this setup. I’m looking into building a similar setup because the simplicity of it is appealing to me.
    Anything you would change or lessons learned from your build now that you’ve had it a while?
     
  11. DOBIJA

    DOBIJA New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not have it yet because I can not afford it so far. It is my dream to have
     
  12. dlhoulton

    dlhoulton New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    I finally got my Workbee 1010 together and got a x controller. I'm having several problems but the main one is that when trying to "jog" the x axis to the right or the y axis to the back, it will only move just a few inches and then stop. It won't let me move any further. Nothing I try will let me jog. It will let me re-home the machine but that's all. When I home the machine and go into the settings "Machine", "Advance settings" it shoes "machine home" not zeroed. X, Y, Z all have neg (-) settings. X is a -780, Y is at -780 and Z is at -50 or close to those values. I can't find a way to set "Machine Home" to zero. Being that my settings are set for the 1000 x 1000 Easel sets the max travel limit at 790mm. Just don't know how to reset anything and why it only allows me to travel/jog just a few inches and then stops! Any help would be helpful.
     
  13. dlhoulton

    dlhoulton New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    Got it working thanks to the great people at OpenBuilds. Was instructed to change the setting on $4 and re-flash the Grbl on the X Controller from 1.1g to 1.1f. I used all the "$" settings from OpenBuilds for the Workbee 1010. The only other setting that had to be made was reverse settings for the Z axis in homing. The X Controller is a great option for the Workbee 1010 and the helpful folks at OpenBuilds went out of there way to help. My Workbee 1010 is up and running great.
     
  14. Bigmontel

    Bigmontel New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    That’s good to hear you got it up and running correctly, haven’t purchased a controller yet, I’m torn between the blackbox and x-controller.
     
  15. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    580
    I havent used an x-controller. Do you mind explaining why you are torn? Just for my education.
     
  16. dlhoulton

    dlhoulton New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    I chose the X Controller over the blackbox because of the "Emergency Stop", "Big red button" that the controller has. Also because of its construction (metal housing). You still have to assemble it, but plenty of easy to follow instructions and videos. Plus the power supply and electronics are all in one enclosure. You don't have to worry about having two separate items and wires connecting the two. That's just my opinion.
     
    Bigmontel and sharmstr like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice