Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

WorkBee CNC Machine

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Ryan Lock, Sep 21, 2017.

  1. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    161
    Good to know your about @Alex Chambers...I may take you up on that offer lol
     
  2. Metalguru

    Metalguru Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    451
    Hahahaha!

    I use a small arbor press for building wheels. Saves your thumbs!

    MG
     
    Colin Mccourt likes this.
  3. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    971
    Colin, on the next machine put the bearing on the table and push the wheel down over it with the heel of your hand. Way easier and you don't wind up with bearing thumb...
     
    Mark Carew and Colin Mccourt like this.
  4. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    161
    Quite guys :D, I finished up getting one bearing practically seated, laid on its back, inserting the shim and the second bearing. Pushing these all together with the bottom of a soft handled screwdriver...worked much better lol

    wheel assembly.jpg
     
  5. Colin Mccourt

    Colin Mccourt Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    161
    @Rick 2.0 ...you so funny :rolleyes:
     
    Rick 2.0 likes this.
  6. stargeezer

    stargeezer Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    117
    Hi gang, after years of running Mach 3 on all my CNC machines I ordered a XPro v4 to install on my Workbee. I expected it to work and even equal Mach 3 for all basic operations - what a surprise! From the time I put a empty controller box on my bench to hooking the finished electronics build up to the Bee was less than ten hours. From the time it was installed and I was running the first part was a quick hour!!!!

    Now I,be got to learn my way around GRBL - that,s going to take awhile, but nothing like Mach 3.

    That XPro is a awesome board!!!
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  7. Spark Concepts

    Spark Concepts Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    91
    Thanks Stargeezer :). Let us know if you need anything
     
    stargeezer likes this.
  8. pauna

    pauna Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hello. Could you tell me how did you get axis 9mm belt adjustment?
     
  9. Hector Beltran

    Hector Beltran Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    I just finished my table-enclosure and I have started my Workbee after a couple of months. I have run a few jobs in the past and have always noticed the X axis very noisy compared to the Z and Y. Jogging the machine is fine. However, while doing more intricate work like carving jobs the X axis appears to vibrate from all the micro movements from the stepper motors. It’s annoying to say the least; granted the router drowns the noise, but it does bother me as something appears to be wrong. I tightened the anti-backlash blocks, the washers on the acme screw, and everything I can think of. I believe the noise is coming from the acme-screw vibrating on the bearing and the gantry plates are amplifying the rattling noise. Has anyone experience this problem? Any help will be greatly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    412
    When you fitted the X axis leadscrew did you pre-load it (loosen screws holding X axis C beam to Y gantry plate at one end, fix lock collar, then re-tighten screws)?
    Can you feel any play in the leadscrew? - sometimes this is easier to detect if you undo the motor coupler.
    Alex.
     
  11. GrayUK

    GrayUK Openbuilds Team Elder
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    605
    Nice cabinet. :thumbsup:
     
  12. Metalguru

    Metalguru Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    451
    • What is your Z axis motor microstep setting? If it is less than 1/8, it may just be cogging of the motor.
    • What type of motor drivers are you using? Do they have Decay Mode settings? If so, try a different setting. This makes a big difference in motor noise.
    • Steppers tend to vibrate when they (and the mechanical system they are connected to ) hit a resonance point. Does the noise get louder or softer at certain plunge speeds? It may just be a matter of using a different plunge speed
    • Check to see if there are loose components on the Z axis, screws, unconnected tee nuts, etc will vibrate loudly under certain conditions
    • Stepper motors while running a program will "sing" different notes as they move. All 3 of them can crate a cacophony, or a symphony, depending on your ear.
    MG
     
  13. Hector Beltran

    Hector Beltran Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thank you guys. I have managed to eliminate all but one tiny rattle which I know where it’s coming from. This last one requires major disassembly. It is non-critical, so I’ll live with it for now.
    The noises were coming from the anti-backlash blocks. I recall following the directions on the YouTube video, but I guess I didn’t do it right. Nevertheless, what I did different this time was that with the acme screw loose from the coupler, collar and both blocks loose, I added a bit of lateral compression on the acme screw; at the same time I tightened the block further out to where I added the compression. I proceeded to tighten the collar. I rotated the acme screw in the opposite direction to add a bit of tension and proceeded to tighten the other block. Finally I tightened the collar to stepper motor. It is working great now with no major rattles.
    The only minor rattle I have is coming from one of the spacers in the X-Z gantry assembly; unfortunately the bolt heads are not visible due to the back-to-back assembly plates. I am gonna run a few jobs, and in the future when I do some maintenance I’ll take it apart and take care of that issue.

    Thanks again guys.
     
  14. Metalguru

    Metalguru Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    451
    Not sure why the blocks would make noise. Never seen that. I usually just tighten the block on one end, loosen the other. Then, using two fingers I squeeze the loose block as tight as I can towards other block until I get the screws tight. It's easier to do on the bench, because you don't have to fight gravity with the weight of the Z axis.

    Did you see my mod to the Z axis mount in the build

    Some Improvements on the Workbee 1000x1000

    Third photo down shows how I modified the Z axis mounting so it comes off in under a minute. Way better than the Ooznest design with 8 inaccessible screws.

    Duct tape will stop the rattling spacer temporarily...

    MG
     
  15. Christian James

    Christian James Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    31
    I saw that mod some time ago and incorporated it into my build - great idea MG!
     
  16. Hector Beltran

    Hector Beltran Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    Cool mod on the X-Z plates. I’ll give it a shot next time I tear down the axes.
    I uploaded a clip where you can hear the blocks causing the acme screws to vibrate.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Metalguru

    Metalguru Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    451
    Hmm, sounds pretty normal to me.

    One thing, use a dry film lubricant on the lead screws and wheels/track. I like WD40 Specialist Dry lube. It leaves a dry teflon film on the parts and lubricates them very well without attracting dust and crap. Works VERY well. Spray it on a small 3/4" or 1" paint brush, and use the brush to apply to the wheels, tracks and screws. Won't hurt the polycarbonate wheels like regular WD40.

    71Fq4p5kCTL._SL1500_.jpg

    MG
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice