Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

VFD Spindle Control via OpenBuilds BlackBox Controller and Software

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by Josh Lambeth, Jan 2, 2020.

  1. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Please post a Grbl Settings backup for review. Might be PWM frequency or one of the other grblhal spindle parameters
     
  2. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    $0=10.0 ; Step pulse time, microseconds
    $1=255 ; Step idle delay, milliseconds
    $2=0 ; Step pulse invert, mask
    $3=4 ; Step direction invert, mask
    $4=0 ; Invert step enable pin, boolean
    $5=7 ; Invert limit pins, boolean/mask
    $6=1 ; Invert probe pin, boolean
    $8=0 ; Ganged axes direction invert as bitfield
    $9=0 ; PWM Spindle as bitfield where setting bit 0 enables the rest
    $10=511 ; Status report options, mask
    $11=0.010 ; Junction deviation, millimeters
    $12=0.002 ; Arc tolerance, millimeters
    $13=0 ; Report in inches, boolean
    $14=0 ; Limit pins invert, mask
    $15=0 ; Coolant pins invert, mask
    $16=0 ; Spindle pins invert, mask
    $17=0 ; Control pins pullup disable, mask
    $18=0 ; Limit pins pullup disable, mask
    $19=0 ; Probe pin pullup disable, boolean
    $20=0 ; Soft limits enable, boolean
    $21=1 ; Hard limits enable, boolean
    $22=1 ; Homing cycle enable, boolean (Grbl) / mask (GrblHAL)
    $23=3 ; Homing direction invert, mask
    $24=100.0 ; Homing locate feed rate, mm/min
    $25=1000.0 ; Homing search seek rate, mm/min
    $26=250 ; Homing switch debounce delay, milliseconds
    $27=5.000 ; Homing switch pull-off distance, millimeters
    $28=0.100 ; G73 retract distance, in mm
    $29=0.0 ; Step pulse delay (ms)
    $30=24000.000 ; Maximum spindle speed, RPM
    $31=0.000 ; Minimum spindle speed, RPM
    $32=0 ; Laser-mode enable, boolean
    $33=5000.0 ; Spindle PWM frequency
    $34=0.0 ; Spindle off Value
    $35=0.0 ; Spindle min value
    $36=100.0 ; Spindle max value
    $37=0 ; Stepper deenergize mask
    $39=1 ; Enable printable realtime command characters, boolean
    $40=0 ; Apply soft limits for jog commands, boolean
    $43=1 ; Homing passes
    $44=4 ; Homing cycle 1
    $45=3 ; Homing cycle 2
    $46=0 ; Homing cycle 3
    $62=0 ; Sleep Enable
    $63=3 ; Feed Hold Actions
    $64=0 ; Force Init Alarm
    $65=0 ; Require homing sequence to be executed at startup
    $70=7 ; Network Services
    $73=1 ; Wifi Mode
    $74= ; Wifi network SSID
    $75= ; Wifi network PSK
    $100=200.000 ; X-axis steps per millimeter
    $101=200.000 ; Y-axis steps per millimeter
    $102=200.000 ; Z-axis steps per millimeter
    $110=2500.000 ; X-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $111=2500.000 ; Y-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $112=2500.000 ; Z-axis maximum rate, mm/min
    $120=500.000 ; X-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $121=500.000 ; Y-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $122=500.000 ; Z-axis acceleration, mm/sec^2
    $130=708.000 ; X-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $131=800.000 ; Y-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $132=430.000 ; Z-axis maximum travel, millimeters
    $320=grblHAL ; Hostname, max: 64
    $322= ; IP Address
    $323= ; Gateway
    $324= ; Netmask
    $325=23 ; Telnet port
    $326=80 ; HTTP port
    $327=81 ; Websocket port
    $341=0 ; Tool Change Mode
    $342=30.0 ; Tool Change probing distance
    $343=25.0 ; Tool Change Locate Feed rate
    $344=200.0 ; Tool Change Search Seek rate
    $345=200.0 ; Tool Change Probe Pull Off rate
    $346=1 ; Restore position after M6 as boolean
    $370=0 ; Invert I/O Port Inputs (mask)
    $384=0 ; Disable G92 Persistence
    $396=30 ; WebUI timeout in minutes
    $397=0 ; WebUI auto report interval in milliseconds
    $398=35 ; Planner buffer blocks
    $481=0 ; Autoreport interval in ms
    $I=leadmachine1010
     
  3. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Try with 1000
     
  4. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Not sure what has happened but now i get no voltage change when I command on the VFD from Control. Getting .3 v send M3 S24000 no increase in voltage at the multi meter. plugged the VFD back in also no spindle rpms.

    I can hear a click in the BB when command is sent both on and off. But no voltage chage
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Run me down the list of things you did between it worked and now so we can see which was most likely?
     
  6. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Really not much. Unmounted the BB from the back of the Machine. Cut the wire ties on the wire loom to get the signal wire to the VFD away from the rest of the wires. Made a pigtail to plug into the BB to make it easier to test the voltage. But I have tested with the Pigtail as well as directly on the terminals on the BB both same result. I have changed $33 to 1000 and changed it back to 5000 both have no change in the current no voltage situation. I have restarted the BB as well as the control program.
     
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    You do have the 24v power in and on?
     
  8. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes I also made sure everything else was working all axis move and the coolant can command on and off
     
  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    As you are playing around with the Tool On menu in CONTROL, does the PWM led on the front of the BlackBox go brighter and dimmer (brightest at 100%)

    The 0-10v circuit takes incoming 24v to power an opamp, and we feed the PWM signal into it to generate a proportional 0-10v out. So either power, or lack of PWM - would prevent output. If the power is OK, next up we got to check if we have PWM. The onboard LED is a good check (See 1(c) of docs:blackbox-x32:layout [OpenBuilds Documentation] to see where it is)

    If we have PWM, but no 0-10v, something damaged the output stage of the 0-10v converter
    If we don't have PWM - we can relook at the Grbl Settings and commands sent for testing (use the Tool On menu in CONTROL to avoid needing to figure out commands). If both those are correct, something may have damaged the PWM pin - was there anything wired to the PWM input?
     
  10. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    The Light is Bright when commanded dont notice any deviation. But the light only comes on when the tool is commanded. I think power is good. How do i check PWM? I have attached pic of the front and the connection on the BB
     
  11. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
  12. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    By looking at the Tool PWM LED (or hooking up an Oscilloscope)

    upload_2024-2-2_21-23-12.png

    The TOOL ON (ENABLED) LED comes on too - make sure you are looking at the PWM LED

    The Tool On menu in CONTROL > Has entries for different speeds (0-100%) - as you go through them the PWM LED should go brighter and dimmer and go off when you do Tool Off


    Yes, as you mentioned
    If the 24v PSU was off the motors would not move.


    Connections are fine, but if damage occured earlier (like accidentally shorting the two multimeter probes together while measuring) it might be a case of too late
     
  13. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well looks like PWM is the current issue. The PWM LED never comes on. Is it fried?
     
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    One last thing before we make that call.
    - OpenBuildsCONTROL > Grbl Settings Tab
    - Click the Reset EEPROM button on the top toolbar
    - After its been reset, restart the BlackBox
    - Reconnect in CONTROL and go to Grbl Settings tab > Select one of our machines from the list (LEAD1010 for example) > Save and Reset when prompted

    Test again
     
  15. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    HERO STATUS!

    Ok i am getting voltage change when tool is activated and PWM LED is on.

    Can i load the saved GRBL settings?

    We are back to the original issue of .59v when the tool is off
     
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    That much is fine - and handled with the VFDs Min Freq setting

    Your other issue of slightly skewed RPMs (not too abnormal, it is an analog signal) we tried to look into with the PWM Frequency. Try that again, but as resetting the Grbl Settings fixed your PWM - make sure you are changing the correct field. Seems some other field was changed by accident
     
  17. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok so i imported backup and that put me back to no voltage change. Reset Eprom everything good again. SO i decided that I would just update the settings manually. As soon as i change the Max spindle speed to 24,000 back to the issue of no voltage change and PMW led not coming on. If i leave it at 1000 then all is good with PMW and voltage. I have even gone as far as that is the only setting i change from the factory lead1010 settings.
     
  18. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Are you also adopting your test method to account for the higher value? (Sending M3S24000 instead of M3S1000) - if using the Menu in CONTROL - remember to use the Reset when prompted dialog in Grbl Settings after clicking save - so the menu sees the new value when the BlackBox reboots and adapts iteself too)
     
  19. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    So yes after updating the Grbl setting of max spindle speed to 24,000 reset back box. Using the menu item in control for 24,000 or 12,000 all the same not PWM led no voltage change.
     
  20. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    And the Serial Terminal log does reflect the correct commands being sent?
     
  21. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok solved 2 of the three issues. pushed the reset button on the BB instead of relying on the reset from the control program. Fixed the PWM at 24000 max spindle speed. Also lower the PWM Freq to 1000 fixed the lower end of the rpms now spindle off it is not slightly spinning anymore.

    But with 24000 trimmed exactly to 10v all the RPMs are much slower as displayed on the VFD. command 18000 get 16800 command 24000 get 22800. That seems like it is substantial
     
  22. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
  23. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
  24. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    No, double check what I said. Try with $33=1000.0 in Grbl Settings (not the VFD).
     
  25. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes i updated that setting as well. The spindle now comes to full stop is the only thing that changed the variation w the rpms remains
     
  26. Brealy

    Brealy New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you for your Help! All is fixed.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  27. Raul Rabaça

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2022
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi everyone,
    I just got a Sinamics V20 (Siemens VFD) and I'm not sure how to wire it to the BBX32. Can someone give me some ideas?
    Looking at the V20 terminals diagram looks like the 0-10V (BBX32) can go to terminal 3: AI2 (AI2: Single-ended, unipolar current and voltage mode/0V to 10V). GND (BBX32) to terminal 5: 0V (Reference potential for terminals 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 13).
    Now, from the relay 2 (BBX32) comes the COM, NO and NC wires. I'm really confused about that wiring. Looks like they must go to the Digital Inputs terminals and I should have some jumper between 12: DIC and 14: 0V or 13: 24V

    upload_2024-2-26_16-14-43.png

    upload_2024-2-26_16-15-20.png
    upload_2024-2-26_16-16-8.png

    upload_2024-2-26_16-16-35.png

    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  28. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    Your VFD vendor would be better able to answer the VFD specific questions.

    We provide the 0-10v signal, and most VFDs can be configured to ignore 0-3v / (0-7200 RPM = OFF, also sometimes 0-120hz) using a Min Freq parameter and ramp 3-10v as 7200-24000RPM / 120-400Hz so usually you only need to wire up this two wires (GND and 0-10v). We do provide the two extra relays on the X32, but its optional whether to wire up

    Once you have it figured out, please do a write up as a new post in a new thread, with nice pictures of the wiring, parameters you set on the VFD, and any other relevant into, and we'd be happy to link to it from docs:blackbox-x32:connect-vfd [OpenBuilds Documentation]

    Do double check all wiring as injecting voltage into BlackBox's 0-10v port can kill it (check that VFD doesn't put 24v on the terminals you wire to the BlackBox)
     
  29. Raul Rabaça

    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2022
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, thanks Peter, I'll do that with pleasure.
    Let's see what comes up from the Siemens forum.... they are electronics engineers....sooo technical terminology.
     
  30. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,701
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    VFDs in general are somewhat generic, existing writeups read along with manuals should get you there. Just we can't officially say yay or nay as its a 3rd party device and we don't know it specifics - things go Boom and you can say but Peter said :)
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice