Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Unidentified alarms 144 17 143

Discussion in 'OpenBuilds Forum Help' started by Jimwaldo, Mar 9, 2021.

  1. Jimwaldo

    Jimwaldo New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aligning the steps for the axes.
    Using Open Control and a Black box.
    X and Y went fine.
    Z - using the wizard a 50 mm move was only 12mm. Entered that as the recorded value. Tried again and the Z only moved 7mm.
    At that point things began to hang up.
    When trying to jog the Z I get an alarm - seems to be different, so far I have seen 144, 17, and 143. All listed as unidentified alarms (surely someone knows what these mean?)
    Z moves a little and then the alarm comes up. If I clear the alarm and try again I get a 'Please wait for the machine to be idle before jogging.

    Could this be due to a too fast attempted travel rate?
    Could this be due to an overheating stepper motor (motor was hot - not horribly, but hot none the less)
    What do these alarms mean ?

    At this point, if I disconnect, kill open controls, relaunch it, re-connect, I can get about a half second of Z before the alarm comes up. Then I'm stuck in 'wait for idle' mode.
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
  3. Jimwaldo

    Jimwaldo New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was working fine until I started using the wizard to set the steps per mm (admittedly Z scaling was off)
    Will work with it again today.
    Where can I find information on these unidentified alarms? They must mean something to someone (surely).
     
  4. Jimwaldo

    Jimwaldo New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to log to a file the communication stream to/from the black box ? (Is there a log already?)
    Also, can I get to the configuration file outside of using the wizard (sorry - a noob question I know)
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Garbled serial data messing with the data stream - Grbl only generates valid alarm numbers. So if you "receive" an invalid number its mangled data


    Serial Log tab: As explained in docs:blackbox:faq-emi [OpenBuilds Documentation]


    Grbl Settings tab (graphical way of entering data) or Serial Console (gnea/grbl )
     
  6. Jimwaldo

    Jimwaldo New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. This is very helpful.
    Is there a way to manually set the steps per mm ? (as opposed to using the wizard)
     
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    7,815
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Yes: See the earlier reply (quoted below). The calibration wizard is a 3rd option.

    If you question is rather how to calculate the value (versus how to set it): See the formula on gnea/grbl

    Have a read through the entire Grbl wiki, it has all the information you may need :)
     
  8. Jimwaldo

    Jimwaldo New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, Reading the doc. (There's quite a bit there - so a bit of a slog.)
    Thank you for your help
     
  9. Jimwaldo

    Jimwaldo New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    An interesting behavior.

    If I start up the Black Box and connect to it with Open Control, if I launch gcode that has an M3 near the start, the motor does not start. If I manually start and stop the motor using the buttons on the Open Control screen and then launch the gcode, the motor starts/stops as expected. Any insights?

    Thanks to your guidance, I found that the steps per mm for the Z axis was set at some huge (tens of thousands) of steps. Changed this to 500 and Z axis is back to moving nicely and all the alarms went away. (Fine tuned to 1015 for my machine. Also limited Z max rate to 400 which works better for my Z. X and Y work well at 700 max rate.)
     
  10. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Missing S value? Syntax is

    M3 S1000

    1000 is your spindle speed. It can be something other than 1000 but your gcode post processor needs to specify it.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  11. Jimwaldo

    Jimwaldo New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll give it a try ! (It's an on off (single speed) device, so speed is meaningless, but if it works, it works.)
     
  12. sharmstr

    sharmstr OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Spindle speed in gcode is meaningless to all of us that use a router as well. Its required.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice