Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Raspberry pi, BCNC screen resolution

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by gstprecision, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. gstprecision

    gstprecision Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys, I hope this is not a stupid question. I have installed Raspbian and BCNC successfully. I am running a RPI 3 with a 5" screen. I would like to change BCNC resolution to see it better on the 5" screen.

    I am very new with Raspbian and the terminal stuff. I am not sure how to access the BCNC file to change the screen size in the terminal. I read a few places that it is how you need to do it, but nowhere I could find proper instructions.

    Is there any good tutorial out there on how to play with this stuff? Found a few but not much, unless I am not searching for the proper thing.

    Thanks
    GST
     
  2. Troy Proffitt

    Troy Proffitt Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    62
    I dont even bother with a screen. I enabled VNC screen sharing in Raspbian, and slaved it to my 10 inch android tablet. Works like a charm.
     
  3. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    561
    AFAIK, as with Windows programs you dont change bCNC, you change Rasbians screen setup. so a googling
    for something like 'rasbian screen resolution' shoudl find those instructions.
     
  4. gstprecision

    gstprecision Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    @David the swarfer that is what I thought too. The screen resolution of Raspbian is perfect with my screen, but BCNC opens up to a much bigger resolution and I can only see about 75% on the options on screen.

    I now run the Pi with a remote desktop connection so I do not need the screen that much, but I will try to change the values in the config file later. I am getting better with the Linux/Raspbian now.

    Thanks
    GST
     
  5. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    305
    I had to change the config for my 10" screen.

    For anyone else who might come across this, here's what I did:

     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice