Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Rack and Pinion (Death to Belts)

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Joe Young, Dec 9, 2018.

1. Joe Young

Joe Young New
    Builder

Awestruck likes this.
  2. Tracy Ranson

Tracy Ranson Well-Known
    Builder

I really would like to see more of how this low profile rack and pinion could be used with the C-beam and would like to see if Openbuilds would be interested in offering an affordable rack and pinion combo. Either way I would be interested in knowing who supplies the low profile rack and pinion as this is a direction that I would like to take. I think that a helical rack and pinion would be better but if I can at least get a link to the supplier that would be great. I am not an engineer but I know that a rack and pinion set up like this could easily provide a huge improvement to the linear drive mechanics of a DIY machine, not only will it improve cutting capability but it would also greatly reduce backlash

mike dauteuil likes this.
  3. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

I suggest moving the rack inside the C-beam. You don't need to add extensions on the wheel spacers that way. Also teeth facing down decreases the potential for debris collecting in them.

Rack.jpg

4. Tracy Ranson

Tracy Ranson Well-Known
    Builder

To reduce debris you could also add some sort of brush set up or way covers of some sort.

5. Steve Mc

Steve Mc New
    Builder

Really like the idea of a rack and pinion system incorporated into the Open-Builds eco-system. one thing I have noticed in other implementations is the use of a pivot and spring-tensioner for contact between the rack and pinion gear. Can anyone (out of interest) give me the reasoning for doing it that way? The only thoughts I had was to compensate for any misalignment or non-linearity.

6. ChadRat6458

Builder