Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

OpenBuilds WorkBee 1510

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Mark Carew, Jun 15, 2018.

  1. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,187
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Mark Carew published a new build:

    Read more about this build...
     
  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    48
    Can you clarify the max material thickness? On the build page, it states 3" (Workable Material Depth 3" (86mm), but in the build video he says 1-3/4"
     
  3. gibson

    gibson Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    hello were did u get your belt tensioners from cant find them trying to beef up my ox build of yours ...
     
  4. TrishC

    TrishC OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello gibson. They should be available in the Part Store shortly. :thumbsup:
     
    gibson likes this.
  5. gibson

    gibson Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    hi iam looking for somthing to do creatively on my cnc were do i get the plate dxf files to run this ... or PDF print outs ...
     
  6. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    37
    gibson, did you look under the 'Files and Drawings' tab at the top of the page?
     
  7. gibson

    gibson Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    i got them ty ... I`am useing fusion 360 as my cad and cam software could u help me with setting them up so i can machine them ...
     
  8. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    37
    Read this. It will help you with your task.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  9. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    48
  10. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    48
    Great. I'm excited to receive mine!
     
  11. MaryD

    MaryD OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    541
    Actually the video is correct @ 1 3/4" , the build page graphic is being updated for all WorkBees in the next hour or so.
     
  12. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    48
    So, its due to the spoiler board beam height? Can I use 20x60 instead of the 20x80?

    Also, check out the other possible mistakes I've found:
    - The option details list 3 motors, not 4.
    - The parts list shows the spoiler board beams to be 20x40, not 20x80 as shown in the video
    - Machine accuracy in your graphic is wrong for the 1510
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  13. gibson

    gibson Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    thank you very much will give it a go later awsome ...
     
  14. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,187
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Thank you for the feedback we are working to correct these now. :thumbsup:
    Right you could lower it and gain more depth. We put it up high make this large machine as stout as possible.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  15. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    48
    Will you guys be doing a wiring video? Or is there wiring doc somewhere that I missed?
     
    Jesse Mccabe likes this.
  16. Serge E.

    Serge E. Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    245
    Great to see all the new bundles. So tempting, with the free shipping and all ... Campers will remind me it will soon be Christmas in July. ;)

    Time to do some long overdue upgrades to my aging myOX ...
     
    GrayUK and Mark Carew like this.
  17. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,187
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Hi sharmstr we are working on a few up and coming wiring videos, that will be super helpful and we started with the OpenBuilds WorkBee 1510 as its the largest.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  18. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,187
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Hey guys just a heads up. We updated the build with an easier to understand xPRO controller diagram in tha main build page that should help to see how to easily wire up the machine to the xPRO controllers.
    Hope this helps.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  19. drcyberg

    drcyberg New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone!
    I like build work area 1000x2000, because only give this size (steel, aluminium). Possible modify in the Workbee cnc items and great work machine? Or need more any componens?
    Big thanks!
    Regards!
     
  20. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,187
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Hello @drcyberg
    Yes you can modify it, thats the beauty of the OpenBuilds system.
    To make it larger you would need to connect the C-Beam together.
     
  21. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    48
    I'm in the middle of assembly now but found an issue. In the build video, you need 4ea. 27mm screws for the idler wheels on the y axis (2 each side), then 6ea. 27mm screws for the wheels on the x carriage assembly. My kit only came with 6ea. 27mm screws total. It also states 6 on the parts list that was included in my shipment and the parts list that was included with my missing items shipment. The parts list on this thread says 10. I'm fairly confident that it should be 10 and I need 4 more.
     
  22. TrishC

    TrishC OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello @sharmstr You are correct there should be 4 more 27mm screws. The Part Store Team has been reaching out to everyone that has the OpenBuilds WorkBee 1510 shipped to them will be receiving these soon. Thank you for your feedback and understanding.
     
  23. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    48
    No problem. There's a bunch of parts on these things so its to be expected initially. I'll probably pick the screws up at the hardware store.

    Do you know what size the set screw on the timing pulleys are? One of my set screws is missing the hex hole so I can screw it in.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  24. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,187
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    :thumbsup:
    The set screws on the timing pulleys are M3 and a 6mm length would work perfect
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  25. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    37
    I don't like to use the set screws that come with these pulleys. I replace them with 3m socket screws. These screws use a bigger Alan key and are less likely to strip the 'hole' as the set screws do. AND...in emergency a plier will do the work on them (if you don't remember where you put the Alan key :D)
     
    Mark Carew and sharmstr like this.
  26. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    48
    Great idea. I was thinking this AM that it might be hard to find a set screw that size at my local HW store. I know they have that size in a socket head. Thanks!
     
  27. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    48
    These kits dont come with limit switches?
     
  28. TrishC

    TrishC OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    9
    As this is meant to be more of a mechanical bundle allowing builders to customize the system, the Limit Switches are available in the Part Store separately.
     
  29. sharmstr

    sharmstr Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    48
    I see that. For us noobs it would be nice to note that on the product page. I'm guessing I need 3 but do I need them with the mounting brackets? What else do I need to get this thing working that's not already listed on product page?
     
    #29 sharmstr, Jun 29, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2018
  30. TrishC

    TrishC OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thank you for the feedback we will be sure to add this this information. :thumbsup:
    The plan is to have a complete wiring video available to accompany the mechanical Build video as soon as possible to help out those who may have questions wiring up their drivers to their machines. These things take time and although we will not be able to cover all the possible electronics/software configurations we are confident that we can get the general idea out to help point in the right direction.
    To answer your question about how many to use, it is usually 3 to use as homing the 3 axis and they are optional as the machine will function just fine without them.
    So really the only thing you really need is to cut a spoiler board and whip up a way to mount your diver card with some wire management and you should be good.
     
    sharmstr likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice