Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Limit switches with BlackBox

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by Eli Endres, Jun 6, 2019.

  1. Eli Endres

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I add switches to both ends of my axis by daisy chaining together limit switches?
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    Parallel wiring if you are using Normally Open Switches
    Serial wiring if you are using Normally Closed Switches

    See gnea/grbl
     
  3. Eli Endres

    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I'm using the xtension switches that normally open.

    The third pin is just for power to the LED right? I can just run that in parallel as well?
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    Correct :)
     
  5. Neil Scott

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello, I have simple question, is it possible to add a LED direct onto the limit switch itself? if so any ideas on what sort please. Controller is Blackbox, awaiting arrival.
     
  6. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    645
  7. Neil Scott

    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2019
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thank you, I haven't got my kit yet , just about to order, and looking at the switches I didn't realize they had one, thats great thank you. Saves a bit of work now!!
     
    Peter Van Der Walt and sharmstr like this.
  8. JTB715

    JTB715 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Will OpenBuilds make a schematic for the Xtension Limit Switch available?
     
  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Project Maker Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    Pretty basic, so if you have issues, let us know what and we'd be happy to help troubleshoot:
    Switches closes SIG to GND when triggered. V+ is used to power the LED and pull-up resistor.
    There is a filter cap across SIG and GND. That's all there is to it
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice