Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Larger CNC Machine

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Peter Granger, Apr 26, 2020.

  1. Peter Granger

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hello,
    I am new to this. i bought a small table top CNC machine at the beginning of the year. I got hooked. I want to build a larger machine that will be able to handle a 1/2 sheet of plywood and have a "Z" axis of 6 inches. From what I can see on this web site there isn't many that are larger than the Workbee 1510. it doesn't seem that it can be made larger easier. I have been talking with open builds parts and they don't recommend it. I was hoping to use screw driven leads but when i get into the larger machines there will be too much whip from the smaller screws. I have looked into getting parts from China but I'm not sure I can trust the quality. I am also hoping to keep the cost under $4000.00. Any ideas or builds?
    Cheers
    Peter
     
  2. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    1,533
    The problem with a 1500mm X-axis has to do with torsional rotation on such a long member. The weight of the router extending so far from the face of the X-axis causes the axis to roll and the router head to bob up and down. Not a great amount but enough that it can affect your work. The best way to resolve that is with a parallel X-axis beam as can be found in the high-Z mod for the lead machine. The problem is how to adapt this concept to the WorkBee which can easily go 1500mm due to the belted axes. Below is a concept sketch I did a while back. It's based on a lead screw model 1010 Workbee but their is no reason it couldn't be adapted for a 1515 WorkBee.

    Workbee High Z.jpg

    The lower you keep the Z-axis the better your results will be. Know what you intend to use the system for and keep that in mind before you commit to any specific height.

    You should be able to bring it in under $2500 but remember you are going into uncharted territory. Should work but no guarantees. And remember this is only for wood or softer materials. This will not be an aluminum cutter.
     
  3. Peter Granger

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for the answer. When I contacted Open Build they said "The High Z Mod was created only for our LEAD Machine and works only with our LEAD, as the LEAD uses the modular plate system. The WorkBee uses custom plates so modifying isn't as simple and interchangeable." . Were you recommending using the custom plates for the 1515?
     
  4. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    1,533
    Actually it is "simple and interchangeable" but apparently they haven't figured it out yet. The High-Z mod fits perfectly between the WorkBee plates and uses existing screw holes to hold it in place. Attached is a copy of the Sketchup file showing the fit up (it's a bit rough but sufficiently complete to get the idea). Understand though that you have no reason to order the High-Z mod kit itself as it includes parts you don't need but you will have to work through the design to figure out the parts you do need.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Peter Granger

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks. I will look into it.
     
  6. Peter Granger

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks again for you help. I'm just curious what machine you use? I would like a bigger machine but it looks like I will have to use belts instead of screws. What are your thoughts on this? Open builds only offer 8mm screws. Would you try to source larger screws from else ware? i was looking into kits and parts from China but I am unsure of the quality. thoughts?
    Cheers
    Peter
     
  7. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,943
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    Use 1/2" - 10 five start screws from McMaster-Carr. They package them well, and shipping is reasonable. If you get them from China, there is a strong possibility they will be bent. My 1500 mm linear rails from China (none were available on Amazon) were only wrapped in bubble wrap and tape with a shipping label stuck on :rolleyes:.

    I used the McMaster-Carr linked screws in my Ox-type build, and many people have modified the Workbee 1510 to use them. Here is one modification showing the screws. Shawn's Workbene 1510
     
    #7 Giarc, Apr 28, 2020
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2020
    Peter Granger and Alex Chambers like this.
  8. Peter Granger

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank-you. It Seams that some people start with the 1510 and get that up and running and then start to modify it to make it better. Is this something you would recommend or try to make a better machine from the start?
    Cheers
    Peter
     
  9. Giarc

    Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,943
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    I like Rick's suggestion. Especially since you are cutting wood. The Workbee with the belts may be all you need for wood. If you need it to be a higher Z, you can buy the LEAD High Z and add it, or just buy the individual components. I am in the process of modifying my CNC and I bought the High Z mod. I am basically making a LEAD with 1500mm screw driven High Z. However my X axis is very customized and the entire X will be run at a low position most of the time since I cut mostly wood, plastic, and aluminum plates. I really need to start documenting my build.
    april10 2.png
     
  10. Peter Granger

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hello,
    I am extremely frustrated! I am sure it is me but I would like to start a new post related to an old one six months ago but I can't seem to figure it out. Could some one show me how to start a new post please.
    Cheers
    Peter
     
  11. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    1,533
    Click on Forums then click on the appropriate section of the forum you wish to post in. Once there you should see a blue box in the upper right hand corner saying "post new thread".
     
  12. Peter Granger

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    I am Missing something. I would like to post in open builds but I don't see the blue box you are talking about.





    upload_2020-10-22_23-16-3.png
     
  13. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    1,533
    Pick a sub heading like cnc mills/routers then look for the blue box
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  14. Peter Granger

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice