Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

IOT Switching Relay Power Strip for router and shop vac?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by jeffmorris, Jul 11, 2019.

  1. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    33
    I would like to use IOT Switching Relay Power Strip for router and shop vac but I need to use the shop vac to clean up the mess after using my CNC router. Is this possible?
     
  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    404
    I'm in the same boat. For a short term fix, I just reach over and turn off my router, then in OB Control I use the Turn on Spindle menu command. However, I got sick of doing that so I created two new macros. One for Spindle On (M3 S1000) and one for Spindle Off (M5).
     
  3. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    408
    If you use the normally off sockets for the router doesn't the normally on socket turn on when the router turns off?
    Alex.
     
  4. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    404
    Yes. But both the router and vac are in the NO sockets so they both come on when you're running a job.
     
  5. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    408
    Of course!
    :oops::oops::oops:
    Alex.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  6. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    404
    Unless someone comes up with a magical way to do this, I think I might add another one and control it with a coolant command since I have no plans to ever add coolant/air.
     
    David the swarfer likes this.
  7. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    408
    There is a way to do this @sharmstr, but it involves wiring a mains switch, so I probably shouldn't post it here. Hint - it involves a double pole / two way switch between the IOT relay socket and the vac.
    Alex.

    PS I have deliberately not given full details because of liability issues. Anyone who does this does so entirely on their own responsibility - Openbuilds will not be responsible if you fry your electrics or yourself.
     
    #7 Alex Chambers, Jul 14, 2019 at 5:32 AM
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019 at 5:57 AM
    Giarc, MFCarew and sharmstr like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice