Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

IOT Switching Relay Power Strip for router and shop vac?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by jeffmorris, Jul 11, 2019.

  1. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    52
    I would like to use IOT Switching Relay Power Strip for router and shop vac but I need to use the shop vac to clean up the mess after using my CNC router. Is this possible?
     
  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    I'm in the same boat. For a short term fix, I just reach over and turn off my router, then in OB Control I use the Turn on Spindle menu command. However, I got sick of doing that so I created two new macros. One for Spindle On (M3 S1000) and one for Spindle Off (M5).
     
  3. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    519
    If you use the normally off sockets for the router doesn't the normally on socket turn on when the router turns off?
    Alex.
     
  4. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    Yes. But both the router and vac are in the NO sockets so they both come on when you're running a job.
     
  5. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    519
    Of course!
    :oops::oops::oops:
    Alex.
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  6. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    Unless someone comes up with a magical way to do this, I think I might add another one and control it with a coolant command since I have no plans to ever add coolant/air.
     
    David the swarfer likes this.
  7. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    519
    There is a way to do this @sharmstr, but it involves wiring a mains switch, so I probably shouldn't post it here. Hint - it involves a double pole / two way switch between the IOT relay socket and the vac.
    Alex.

    PS I have deliberately not given full details because of liability issues. Anyone who does this does so entirely on their own responsibility - Openbuilds will not be responsible if you fry your electrics or yourself.
     
    #7 Alex Chambers, Jul 14, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019
    Giarc, MFCarew and sharmstr like this.
  8. Mark E. Crum

    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    To Sharmstr.... you stated that: "Yes. But both the router and vac are in the NO sockets so they both come on when you're running a job."

    My question is.... I use Fusion 360, BlackBox and the IoT Switching Relay, oh and OpenBuilds Control software... I already know that the command to turn the tool on/off is: (M3 S1000 to the start, and M5 to the end).

    But how do I make the tool start when I hit start job button? Then turn it off when the job is done?

    Also... The IOT does turn the tool off when a limit switch is hit... Does it turn it off when an error happens?
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  9. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    "But how do I make the tool start when I hit start job button? Then turn it off when the job is done?"

    You answered your own question within your question so maybe I'm not understanding what you are really asking. As you say, you use M3 S1000 to turn on and M5 to turn off. These commands need to be in your gcode. Near the top of your gcode you will have an M3 S1000 (or similar) line. You'll also see a G4 P line that will pause movement to allow the spindle to get up to speed. Near the end of your gcode you'll have an M5 line.

    Code:
    G90 G94
    G17
    G21
    
    (Operation 1 of 1 : Inner  6 )
    
    G90
    G53 G0 Z-10
    G54
    S17000 M3
    G4 P1.8
    
    .... gcode removed .....
    
    G53 G0 Z-10
    M5
    G0 X-10 Y-10
    M30
    %
    
    If you're using the swarfer fusion post (and almost every other post I've seen including OB CAM), all of this is done for you.

    "Does it turn it off when an error happens?" Ummm, I dont know off the top of my head. @Peter Van Der Walt do you know?

    Also, side note. When I said NO sockets I'm referring to Normally OFF
     
    #9 sharmstr, Aug 30, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2019
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Depends on the error. If it enters ALARM state Grbl should shutdown the outputs as far as I know.

     
    sharmstr likes this.
  11. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    Not a smart *** answer but if it ends up being too technical just buy another shopvac! Quick and easy fix! I'm a woodworker not techy! LOL
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  12. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    Mark E. how did you connect the switch to your Blackbox?? Thanks!
     
  13. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    635
    MaryD and Peter Van Der Walt like this.
  14. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    25
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice