Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

How to hook up a 48 Volt and 24 Volt Power supply using a single AC Rocker Switch

Discussion in 'General Electronics' started by Ed Zacly, Dec 17, 2017.

1. Ed Zacly

Ed Zacly New
    Builder

Greetings,

I am trying to assemble a Control Box for my Ox Metal CNC router, I would like to determine if my power supply hook up is correct as per the schematic below. I am stuffing this into a small mini tower and space is at a premium on the back panel…

As per the illustration below I have:
    1. One plug in point /AC rocker switch for both power supplies.
    2. Two power supplies, 24 V & 48 V on the same terminal but hooked up separately and supplying two separate circuits.

Rocker Switch: AC rocker switch power

Larger PDF file attached for detailed review,

I have zero knowledge in electronics….Support and comments appreciated.

Regards & Thank you

upload_2017-12-17_10-52-44.png

upload_2017-12-17_11-7-13.png

Attached Files:

GrayUK likes this.
  2. Joe Santarsiero

Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

Looks good to me. What spindle are you planning on using?

3. Ed Zacly

Ed Zacly New
    Builder

Hi Joe,

Thank you for responding... I have zero experience with electronics, let me know if you have any suggestions for improvement / efficiency ?

I bought the spindle and the speed control from SMW3D … the picture in the PDF was off the internet for layout purposes only..

Quiet Cut Spindle
    Quiet Cut Spindle

Spindle Speed Control
    Spindle Speed Control

Regards,
    Ed

4. Joe Santarsiero

Joe Santarsiero OB addict
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

Nope, but I'm not an electrician either. I do not have zero experience though. Just enough to keep the blue smoke in and my hair in place.
    Everything looks great. I'm kinda jealous I don't have a wire diagram that nice for my machine :) I drew one similar up years ago when I was building a home studio.