Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

How to check 1515 for square and how to square it?

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Shawn Patrick, May 15, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Shawn Patrick

Builder

Newbie of course but just wanted to make sure I'm fully understanding how to check if the Leads 1515 frame is square and how to square it if needed. I did a simple estimated measurement with tape measure from corner to corner. It's off by 1/4 of inch but I would suspect there's a more accurate way of checking.

The main reason for this question is that I'm getting different results that what is expected. For instance, I have a .60 inch hole designed in Fusion 360 but getting .52 once milled using 2D Contour. The bit is a Carbide 1/4 > 1/8 UpCut 2 Flute Ball Nose. I'm still learning and not quite grasping what feed & speed to use.

I can provide other information if needed.

~Shawn

2. Alex Chambers

Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

To measure diagonals I use two pointed sticks - each over 1/2 the distance. Push the point of each stick into opposite corners, hold the sticks firmly together and overlapping, remove without letting them move relative to each other and measure point to point with a rule.
    Alex.

3. Shawn Patrick

Builder

Thanks for the response but is that the best and most accurately way to check square? It's got to be as near as impossible to remove the 2 sticks from the frame without them moving. That's got to be a better way.

4. Giarc

Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

I measure corner to corner with a tape.

Is your hole round? Did you calibrate the x y and z axis? If not, your machine thinks it is cutting 60 mm but may only be cutting 52. For the CAM, did you enter in the cutting diameter or the endmill shaft diameter? 1/4 vs 1/8?