Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Help with CNC Router for making Guitars and light milling

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by George Brown, Sep 28, 2020.

1. George Brown

Builder

First I am not a newbie to cnc. I am also not new to making guitars.My home shop includes a mini mill cnc converted to ballscrews, a midsize mill and 10" lathe. I have a fairly well endowed wood shop and I will spare you the long list.

At one point I ran an automation store on ebay where I was able to collect supplies for this project as the company had lots of scrap available..

I have looked and looked for a stiff cheap prebuilt router system but have found nothing suitable under 3k. I need accuracy as some of the work will include very fine inlay work.

So what do I have.

extrusion 8020 1.5" x 3" (yes inch size) enough for the mill and more
    3/8 and 1/2" aluminum sheet/ I will need to check the 3/8 for flatness. enough for parts and two risers
    Brackets and screws for the extrusion (lots)
    THK LM ballscew / linear rail in a steel channel which includes a motor mount. I cannot remember the model number. I got this for the z axis.
    Ballscrew for the X axis Singe start. Over 36"

I can make most of the parts necessary to build the router. I dont want to build a really big machine so I really need a working table size of 24 x 40 inches.

1. How high should the z access actually be. I think I can get 6" out of the THK part as I believe it has 12" of travel.
    2. How come I do not see any machines using SBR (round) linear rails on this forum
    3. Has anyone mixed ballscrews and acme

I have had a hard time finding any router builds fitting my description that can put and indicator on the spindle and not see lots of runout.

Any help you can provide.

2. JustinTime

JustinTime Veteran
    Builder