Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Error Codes 6 and 9

Discussion in 'Control Software' started by jeffmorris, Jan 17, 2018.

  1. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    10
    I almost finished building my Arco System and started working on electronics. I have CNC xPro V3 board with GRBL V1.1. I use GrblControl software. I didn't connect anything to the board. I got Error Codes 6 and 9. I found out that Error Code 6 means no homing switches are installed. I don't know that Error Code 9 means. I didn't buy any switches. I connected the board to an 24VDC PSU made for CNC routers and 3D printers. How can I fix the Error Code problems?
     
  2. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    414
    the full list of error codes is here
    Grbl v1.1 Interface · gnea/grbl Wiki · GitHub

    seems to me your GRBL is set up for home/limit switches but they are not installed.
    read this Grbl v1.1 Configuration · gnea/grbl Wiki · GitHub and turn off homing and limits.
     
  3. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    10
    I can't enter anything in the textbox because GRBLControl keeps on flashing the error codes every second.
     
  4. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    414
    use the Arduino serial console, or UGS to change the settings.
     
  5. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    414
    but wait, if you are using 'grblcontrol' and GRBL1.1 then it will never work since GRBLcontrol has not been updated to work with GRBL 1.1.
    rather use Candle 1.1.7 Releases · Denvi/Candle · GitHub
     
  6. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    10
    How can I turn off homing and limits?
     
  7. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    414
  8. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    10
    I found out that GRBL Panel software works. I can jog the machine. I should be getting the switches from Probotix.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice