Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

C-Beam Kyo Sphinx 10060

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Sprags, Feb 25, 2018.

  1. Sprags

    Sprags Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    13
  2. Sprags

    Sprags Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    13
    Last weekend I completed the frame. Previously I built the wheel/plate assemblies.
    This weekend I started bolting the gantries the the frame and thinking since everything is square and all of the beams were carefully measured at least twice and then cut and then measured again to verify I cut them to the correct lengths figured I should just be able to bolt everything together and it should all be good. Well..my X-axis is supposed to be 600mm and that's what I measured the frame parts to be. And according to plan the c-beam is supposed to be 603mm which it does measure to. However, upon bolting everything together I found the distance between the y-axis beams measures around 602mm. So it looks like I'll be tweaking and adjusting everything before attaching the X-axis beam to the risers.
     
  3. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
    How's everything going buddy?
     
  4. Sprags

    Sprags Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hey Mike!
    I got sidetracked with home repairs and working 55 hours a week for the past month..but I did get the mechanical assembly complete...only to realize I forgot to install the shims between the collars and bearings while installing the lead screws. I'm going to fix that this weekend. I'm ordering a Bud Industries enclosure as well as an e-stop buttons and a fan to assemble all my electronics. I'm still trying to decide on either a raspberry pi for the controller software or a Windows laptop.
     
  5. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
    Awesome! Well I'm glad to hear you're still moving forward. I think the R pi would be the most minimal setup. I would like to downsize my setup someday with something like that.
     
  6. Sprags

    Sprags Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    13
    my iPad is on its way out...it's an iPad 3 I got in 2011 so I am considering a new laptop rather than a tablet. I'm thinking I should get it running with a laptop to make that phase easier and once that's done the raspberry pi would be permanent...hopefully
     
  7. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
    The Ras Pi would be the most compact but from my limited experience with them, installing software and running programs can be frustrating. Again, this is just my own experience. I have a Pi that I intended to use for an SLA resin printer. If you have any old laptop or desktop, that will do just fine. I like using a PC because I can also run my CAD software (slowly) on the same machine if need be.
     
  8. Sprags

    Sprags Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    13
    My old desktop is a huge tower with 32 gigs of ram and dual monitor setup. And I do not have a laptop. My iPad is going on 7 years old so I thought it was time for a new laptop. I figure i can use the laptop to get the machine running and then try a R Pi.....but maybe a cheap 200 dollar laptop would be better? What do you think?
     
    #8 Sprags, Apr 22, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2018
  9. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
    I used a similar huge, older tower to house the pc, drivers and controller!
     
  10. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
  11. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
    I no longer have the VFD in there. I now have the Phoenix controller in it's place. That's an old, steel gaming pc case with a smaller motherboard from a dell nested in there.
     
  12. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
  13. Sprags

    Sprags Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    13
    So you have your machine controller and a desktop PC board to run the controller software along with the stepper drivers in your tower case?
     
  14. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
    Yes Sir I do. The case had an old, full size gaming motherboard in it. I had a newer, compact dell pc that I gutted and installed everything in the big case leaving room for the drivers, and extra PSU and the CNC controller.
     
  15. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
    I found these little DB9 breakout boards that I modified to fit in the PCI express slots on the back of the tower. They then connect the necessary wiring to each stepper driver. DSCN0987 (1).JPG DSCN0983 (2).JPG DSCN0993 (1).JPG
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  16. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
  17. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
    There's what they look like in the back of the PC DSCN1019 (2).JPG
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  18. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
    Holy smokes! I didn't mean to hog your build discussion. I'll remove the posts if you like. For some reason I thought we were using PM
     
  19. GrayUK

    GrayUK The Secret of Life is ..... Choice!
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    407
    Michael.M
    To be honest, I'm glad you made that mistake. All of us, can now get to see, a really good way to hook up the Drivers etc to the back of an old PC case. It's a really neat and tidy way to go. :D
    If it's okay with Sprags, I'd appreciate it if you left those pictures and text where they are, or even gave them their own thread, as well, for future reference. :rolleyes:
    Good Job. :thumbsup::thumbsup:
    Gray
     
    Michael.M and Sprags like this.
  20. Sprags

    Sprags Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    13
    Mike...that's all right. Hog away...I appreciate all the help your giving me.. I was about to spend money on an empty metal box which I would then need to cutout openings for a fan, mounting holes, switch and connector openings. I kinda had this idea that a computer case was kinda cheesy but this kinda makes more sense...especially when you have the PC and the machine controller in one box. Only thing is I'm trying to justify a new laptop ...something I can run Fusion 360 on as well the machine controller software. And I like the idea of the software being windows based since I haven't played with Linux in a long time and to install bCNC and get communications setup on a R-Pi, though would be cool is getting away from the main objective.
     
    #20 Sprags, Apr 24, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2018
  21. Sprags

    Sprags Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    13
    I agree how about creating another thread for setting up the controller...but please leave the photos here too.
     
  22. Michael.M

    Michael.M Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    113
    I think the dedicated electronic enclosures with custom buttons / ports are absolutely awesome but for now, this is just what made sense. Wiring this whole thing up actually took me an entire weekend because at the time I wasn't really sure what I was doing. I have a ton of pictures I've taken during my build and if anyone needs some more detail, just ask. The blue wires in the third picture I posted are all the drain wires from the shielded cable. I basically ran all my grounds to the same PSU. I am using multiple power supplies so I'm sure I still have noise issues. I live in an older apartment that happens to have terrible grounding so I'm not sure what to do about it.
     
  23. Sprags

    Sprags Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    13
    I bought a case from Automation Technologies, the place a few miles from my house. The case was kind of expensive for what it is but it looks good. It is large enough you contain the Phoenix controller board, the servo motor drivers, the power supply and the VFD...even though I am reading that to prevent and electronic signal issues it would be better to not put the VFD is the same case.

    In all my years of being a computer geek I've thrown away more cases and boards and cables than most can believe and unfortunately I do not have any cases or motherboards to use for this project.

    I have a feeling this project may take off and when that happens I will probably re-do the electronics part.

    Thanks for keeping this thread going during my hiatus.
     
    GrayUK likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice