Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

BlackBox

Discussion in 'Other Builds' started by Mark Carew, Feb 22, 2019.

  1. Denis Lapratte

    Denis Lapratte Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    But how do you adjust master/slave without stalling one of the two and causing a misalignment when one of the two stall?
     
  2. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    410
    I made the same adjustment on Y and Y2 at the same time. Didnt havent any issues with one stalling.
     
  3. Denis Lapratte

    Denis Lapratte Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks, will try this when installing.
     
  4. Muxa

    Muxa Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    12
    After some adventures with the local post loosing my package, bit finally received the BlackBox!
    Assembling was straight forward: easy, quick a lot of fun.
    Today i have finished setting up on on by OX CNC and configuring everything.
    IMG_5766.jpg
    I have yet to run something with it but so far i really like it - quite drivers and a slick package.
    Looking forward to putting it the test.

    Page about my CNC: Ooznest OX CNC.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    19
    I have a quick question I hope. I received my BlackBox and I have set it up as per the Wiki and the various videos. When I turn the box on all my motors become energized. When I connect to the Open Builds Control Panel everything works as it should (I have a C-Beam XL) as it jogs correctly and is really smooth but I am upgrading from a Audrino Uno / C-Shield and when it was connected I could jog my axis' by hand. With the BlackBox I can't move any of the axis' by hand! Any help would be appreciated!
     
  6. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    19
    Another quick question, I want to use UGS as well as Easel, I suspect the BlackBox will work with any GRBL based program?? Thanks!
     
  7. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    742
    Thats a Grbl setting, but PLEASE do not change it (we set it be default to prevent people moving it by hand... See next section) and NEVER move an axis by hand. Stepper motors when spun by the axle, become a generator. Pushing voltage back into the driver when you move the axis by hand. Guess what happens when you push the stepper into becoming a generator spitting current and even high voltage if you move fast enough, into a driver thats not supposed to be getting that? Poof, magic smoke, and a non working board. This holds true for almost all stepper drivers. Never move an axis by hand. Use the JOG functions in software
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  8. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    742
    Standard Grbl so yes, if software works with Grbl it should
     
    crnrstndes likes this.
  9. crnrstndes

    crnrstndes Journeyman
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thanks Peter, I was just concerned about the fact the motors were energized and they have a hum coming from them! Good information! Thanks again!
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  10. JoshT

    JoshT New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine has started doing this too - was working fine until I went to OpenBuilds Control v1.0.179...
     
  11. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    742
    It is very unlikely yo be software related, more likely EMI (If ever in doubt, check the Changelog, see if there was any changes to thing you suspect: OpenBuilds/OpenBuilds-CONTROL )
    - seperate your power (mains) and signal wires with some distance between them. Also motor wires - they also emit some EMI
    - use good quality USB cables with Ferrite Cores

    And make sure Windows isnt shutting down your Port for you (USB Selective Suspend) : USB device not getting along with Windows 10? Try this quick fix.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice