Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Black out Edition Workbee 1010

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Xxztrexxx, Nov 28, 2018.

  1. Xxztrexxx

    Xxztrexxx Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Xxztrexxx published a new build:

    Read more about this build...
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  2. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    1,808
    Thank you so much for the kind words @Xxztrexxx you rock! I will pass this along to the Team in the meeting this morning. Your machine came out great looking thank you for sharing the pictures as well. :thumbsup:
     
  3. Xxztrexxx

    Xxztrexxx Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    I use fusion 360 to do my drawings and create a dxf file from that program and send to Open Builds Cam program for production. Im looking for a answer as to why the circles and arcs while being perfect in fusion are cut as faceted arcs and circles. Is there a setting I'm missing in either program. I would like my arcs and circles to be cut as drawn. Hopefully someone can help.
    Thanks
    Bob Lambert
    Ohio Valley Woodworks
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    825
    Grbl supports Arcs (G2 and G3) so make sure your post processor on Fusion is setup to output G2/3s for circles/arcs
    Which post processor are you using?
     
  5. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    437
    I would suggest that you use the cam facilities built into Fusion 360 rather than exporting a dxf. Once you have generated the toolpaths in Fusion there are several post processors you can use including one by @sharmstr. My phone is down to less than 10% battery so if @sharmstr doesn't chip in with a link I'll provide more details later.
    Alex.
     
  6. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    469
  7. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    437
    Thanks @sharmstr, on my PC now, but I see you got there before I did.:D
    Apologies for the brief response last time @Xxztrexxx - is there a reason you are not using the cam facilities in Fusion?
    Alex.
     
  8. Xxztrexxx

    Xxztrexxx Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey thanks for the reply..I'm pretty sure there is no good reason other than the learning curve I have been going through exploring the capabilities/ setup of the machine and adjusting from Microstation Cad to Fusion Cad. I had been producing quite a bit of things with straight lines and such and this is the first project with curves and circles. Usually dxf's have worked no problem. early on I had used the post processor and had downloaded a genaric or so I thought Grbl processor from autodesk and basically didnt go far enough as I was doing fairly basic stuff. Guess it time to explore further. Thanks for the information on sharmstr/GRBL-Post-Processor.. I will proceed to install and learn that part also. Good to know that people are out there willing to help. Gratitude!
     
  9. Xxztrexxx

    Xxztrexxx Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    ok guys..installed the sharmstr/GRBL-Post-Processor no problem..generated a simple shape in fusion --box with recessed interior ran the cam program sent the post through no problems. simulated it in fusion no errors... sent to open builds control, ran simulator and nothing. cant figure out what i did wrong again...once again can anyone help me..i attached the file from fusion
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    825
    Simulator may fail to 'simulate' some jobs. More importantly, does it run on the machine.
     
  11. Xxztrexxx

    Xxztrexxx Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Peter, hmm that thought did cross my mind also...my machine is at my shop and I'm in my studio at home..lol might need to get a machine for home also or install it in a enclosed trailer so i can drag it wherever i go..
     
    MaryD likes this.
  12. Xxztrexxx

    Xxztrexxx Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just an FYI..turnes out the code did work on the machine, while not working in the simulator. Curious as to why it didnt work in the simulator but thats best left to the code writes i guess..Thanks for your perspective..
     
  13. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    437
  14. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    825
    :) Upload the files that dont work (; can't fix what I can't analyse/test/improve/repeat hehe
     
  15. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    469
  16. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    825
    Thanks! But just mentioning, if theres others too
     
    sharmstr likes this.
  17. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    825
    v1.0.173 is out. Check it! Consider the changes BETA so report any issues. But yeah, it should no follow G2/G3 arcs in the Simulator too
     
    sharmstr likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice