Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Black out Edition Workbee 1010

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Xxztrexxx, Nov 28, 2018.

  1. Xxztrexxx

    Xxztrexxx Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    Xxztrexxx published a new build:

    Read more about this build...
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  2. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,328
    Likes Received:
    1,756
    Thank you so much for the kind words @Xxztrexxx you rock! I will pass this along to the Team in the meeting this morning. Your machine came out great looking thank you for sharing the pictures as well. :thumbsup:
     
  3. Xxztrexxx

    Xxztrexxx Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use fusion 360 to do my drawings and create a dxf file from that program and send to Open Builds Cam program for production. Im looking for a answer as to why the circles and arcs while being perfect in fusion are cut as faceted arcs and circles. Is there a setting I'm missing in either program. I would like my arcs and circles to be cut as drawn. Hopefully someone can help.
    Thanks
    Bob Lambert
    Ohio Valley Woodworks
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    597
    Grbl supports Arcs (G2 and G3) so make sure your post processor on Fusion is setup to output G2/3s for circles/arcs
    Which post processor are you using?
     
  5. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    336
    I would suggest that you use the cam facilities built into Fusion 360 rather than exporting a dxf. Once you have generated the toolpaths in Fusion there are several post processors you can use including one by @sharmstr. My phone is down to less than 10% battery so if @sharmstr doesn't chip in with a link I'll provide more details later.
    Alex.
     
  6. sharmstr

    sharmstr Master
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    305
    Alex Chambers likes this.
  7. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    336
    Thanks @sharmstr, on my PC now, but I see you got there before I did.:D
    Apologies for the brief response last time @Xxztrexxx - is there a reason you are not using the cam facilities in Fusion?
    Alex.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice