Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Advice for multipurpose CNC machine

Discussion in 'Other Builds' started by Derhamo, Mar 14, 2018.

1. Derhamo

Derhamo New
    Builder

Hi all,

I am a University student and have experience in workshops and 3D printing. A project that’s been on my mind is that I would like I would like to design and build a desktop CNC machine, which led me to this website. Ideally I would like to just be able to change the tool (eg from milling to laser to pen etc) so I can make it multifunctional. I got this idea having seen the CNC Piranha fx. I have my 3D printer (an iMakr Startt, which I salvaged parts to create my own design), connected to octoprint via a raspberry PI. I’d like to use the same PI or multiple to be able to just load gcode (not sure if the name is different outside 3D printing) for each type of tool without unplugging and plugging in loads of cables.

I have some idea about the x,y,z part, but was hoping someone may be able to help me get started or point me in the right direction. There are many threads on this forum and I imagine I can’t be the first person to ask a similar question, but having never been here before I’d appreciate being directed to the right place.

Thanks in advance!

2. Rob Taylor

Rob Taylor Master
    Builder

People have asked it a lot of times before, but I don't know if it's ever really been accomplished to any kind of streamlined, satisfactory level. I know as of maybe 3 years ago, the standard answer was just "don't even bother trying". It's technically possible, but to do it well it'd require an understanding of machine tools, CNC and probably editing firmware and writing gcode macros that a lot of people don't generally bring to the table when it comes to basic extrusion-based hobby machines.