Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

XPro V3 vs Vectric Software

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by Lodds, Jan 4, 2018.

1. Lodds

Lodds New
    Builder

Guys,
    I have been reaching out to Spark Concepts the makers of this board, Ooznest the supplier and Vectric software to try and resolve an issue I am having.

I am new to CNC and have built my own C-Beam kit that was supplied from Ooznest. I initially tried to use Inkscape along with Makercam but found this far to complex, probably okay for some but for me it didn't work.
    I then purchased Vectric Cut2D and then realised I should have purchased VCarve instead. Needless to say Vestric wasn't very sympathetic to my error and found myself with two pieces of Vectric software.

I have followed a tutorial from the Vectric website that involved creating a simple double sided box. The resultant toolpaths from following along with this tutorial is where it all goes wrong.
    X and Y axis appear okay but the Z axis appear to have a mind of its own and plunges deep into the workpiece and into the spoilboard.

Carving simple names and profiles appear to work okay, but in honesty I haven't carried out extensive test on either but first test runs appear okay.

Pocket toolpaths appear to be the issue and only on the Z axis.

My first question is, is anyone using Vcarve or Cut2D with the Xpro V3 software on a Windows 10 machine?
    Second question. Anyone have any ideas what could be wrong?

2. Jonathon Duerig

Jonathon Duerig Journeyman
    Builder

I've used Vectric software alongside xPro controllers. I also took a quick glance at that tutorial. The basic problem you are having likely has to do with how you are aligning your Z-axis.