Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

xPRO advice for absolute novice

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by Jonathan Warawa, Aug 22, 2018.

1. Jonathan Warawa

Builder

I purchased parts from OpenBuilds to construct a rig that moves a scanner through a series of compartments. This is not a typical CNC router/laser setup, and I can't use a software package with file downloSoads to figure this out. It is a large rig, and I had to purchase aluminum rail direct from China to get the 2 meter lengths I need for the X and Y.

So, I have now hit a brick wall of not being sure how to start programming Arduino onto the CNC xPRO v3 I purchased. I have the electronics all connected with NEMA17 X, Y1, Y2, and Z motors connected to kick the tires and see if I can make anything work. I have a 24V power source connected per the Sparks website recommendation. LEDs all light up, and I can see the COMM3 port has a USB device. I downloaded Arduino 1.8.5, and it neither allows me to select port, nor select an appropriate board. All the boards are Arduino boards. Am I meant to use the CNC xPRO as an Arduino board? Which one?

I downloaded a example file to move a motor and tried to upload it to the xPRO using the Arduino/Genuino Uno board selection (seems to be default in software). It didn't manage to upload anything.

So now I am confused. When trying to scour the net for advice, it seems that many ppl using Arduino to run CNC are coding pins out to motor drivers to move the motors. That isn't how the xPRO is setup of course as I gather the controller and motor driver are all on one board.