Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

workbee cnc router from china

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by martin gray, Nov 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. martin gray

Builder

hi all i am completely new to cnc routers and was wondering i want to purchase a machine but of course money is a factor when it comes to my purchase, i was looking at the workbee 1000mmx 1000mm on their site its around £1400+ but i have found the same machine on aliexpress for much much cheaper $580 dollars obvs not including shipping etc and from what i can see all i need to buy for the machine is the 3 axis controller kit for $113 as it comes with nema 23 steppers

my question is , is this a viable option to building my own cnc router?is it technically a case of just buying the kit and electronics ? i use fusion 360 to model my parts and generate gcode, i have figured out to run the
    machine i will need UGS universal gcode sender to implement the gcode from fusion to the machine.

if what i think is true you can get the workbee machine 1000x1000 for much cheaper than if i were to buy it from them! i contacted ooznest to ask them about the machine and they say because the machine is open source and is widely available on sites such as aliexpress etc but its not a ooznest product and i wont get the after care which im not bothered about anyways

i want to build a machine from scratch but the only thing that i think i will need help with is the electronics so is it better to pay the extra £800-£1000 ontop to get the aftercare or go for the chinese copy which in essence it is

for me i think they source the machines from china and stamp their name on it technically all your buying is aluminum extrusion and stepper motors and of course the 3 axis contollers so i cannot justify their prices for their machines that could possibly come from china ill add the link below any help would be greatly appreciated