Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Workbee 1010 Nut block

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by cwturner2, Jun 17, 2019.

  1. cwturner2

    cwturner2 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just purchased the Workbee 1010 with xPro v4, my first CNC machine. I have completed the setup via the online videos. I am having some difficulty with the lead screw nut blocks on Y and A axis. The nut blocks are so tight that I had to use a drill to thread the lead screw through the nut block. When I contacted Openbuilds, they informed me to use silicon lubricant. Which I have done. At this point, the Workbee is completely assembled and the high torque Nema-23 motors are unable to turn the lead screws.

    Has anyone else experienced this issue? If so, how did you resolve it?

    Thanks
     
  2. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    408
    Yes - most people experience this with new nut blocks and the solution is to use the drill on the end of the leadscrew to run it back and forwards several times through the nut block until it "wears in" a bit.
    Alex.:)
     
  3. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    408
    PS - if you do this with the nut blocks mounted on the gantry plate have one of them slightly loose - and when you have got them running reasonably only squeeze the nut blocks together gently as you tighten the fixing screws - you will have virtually no backlash to start with.
    Alex. :thumbsup:
     
  4. cwturner2

    cwturner2 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    @Alex, I will do that this evening. Do you know about how many times I will need to complete this to break in the nut block?
     
  5. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    408
    I didn't count when I did mine - depends how stiff they are to start with - you can't go too far though.
    Alex. :)
     
  6. cwturner2

    cwturner2 Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    As @Alex Chambers suggested, After spending some time threading the lead screws in and out with a drill, they loosened up enough for normal operation. My Workbee 1010 is up and running.
     
    Alex Chambers likes this.
  7. Alex Chambers

    Alex Chambers Openbuilds Team
    Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    408
    Pleased to hear it!
    Alex:thumbsup::thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice