Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Work Bee CNC - Problem!!

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Ioan, Apr 3, 2018.

  1. Ioan

    Ioan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys.
    I'm new here and trying to get my head around my workbee. I recently purchased a workbee cnc and after assembling it and testing it, everything seemed ok. The problem I have is that my home coordinates show 0,0,0 - but landing in the top right hand corner of the bed. When i send anything to get cut it goes straight off the bed!! The coordinates should show -1270, -1300.
    The axis all move in the right directions.

    I've retraced and checked everything but to no avail.

    Do you guys have any ideas??

    Thanks
     
  2. Weldsmith

    Weldsmith Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    17
    I sounds like you do not have your home set right. move to the lower left and re zero home.
     
  3. Ioan

    Ioan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried ths and it still send it off the bed to try and cut!!
     
  4. Scotty Orr

    Scotty Orr Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    134
    What CAM software are you using? What G-code sending software are you using? You should probably provide much more information about your software set up (and settings) for anyone to be able to give meaningful help.
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  5. Tobin

    Tobin Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just to be clear, when you home the machine using $H it should normally go to the far right corner (with Z up) until it hits all 3 limit switches. This then zeros your ‘machine coordinates’.

    You then manually jog the machine to the near left corner, then zero your ‘work coordinates’. This sets the zero for your work coordinate system in this near left corner.

    Your machine will then work in the positive X and Y directions from this ‘work zero’ position i.e. starting in the near left corner and working out from there.

    Note that although your ‘work coordinates’ are zeroed in this near left corner, your ‘machine coordinates’ will read approximately -1270, -1300 (depending on machine size).

    Hope that helps.

    PS I am new and still learning so use this advice with a pinch of salt!
     
    #5 Tobin, Apr 4, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2018
  6. Ioan

    Ioan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried that, but I'm just windering if i had changed the file to start from the bottom left as well or just tried it with the same file.

    I will give it a try Mondaybas am not in work niw untill then!

    Thanks
     
  7. Ioan

    Ioan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using UnUniversal gcode Sender send the Gcode and VCarve 9 to make the tool paths.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice