Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Which CNC Router For Beginner

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Andrew Gould, Mar 18, 2017.

1. Andrew Gould

Builder

I'm brand new to CNC and would like to know which build i should try. I've seen the makesmith on Kickstarter and wanted to try that, but can't find the plans.

I live in South Africa and Arduino boards are quite easy to come by so maybe one based on that?

Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Giarc

Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

What do you plan on cutting the most?

3. Andrew Gould

Builder

Hi there. Thanks for the reply. I will probably mostly be working with wood, plastic and maybe soft metals.

4. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team

The next question would be how long do plan to remain a beginner? You will likely outgrow the makesmith style machine fairly quickly.

5. Andrew Gould

Builder

That's a very good point. I suppose i don't want to choose a build that is so far beyond my skill level that it takes me forever to build and debug. I don't have an engineering background, i do however have a shop and can build things and have some rudimentary programming knowledge.

I actually wanted to build a 3d printer, but somehow CNC seems more useful.

6. WildBill

WildBill Well-Known
    Builder

1st post here but have been following for quite a few months now as a new beginner looking to learn more than talk. So I think I can give the beginner's prospective. I looked at that kit and it looks like its using a Dremel for its cutting.