Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Where to get Endmills: Poll

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Adam Filipowicz, May 1, 2018.

?

Where Do you get your endmills?

1. Aliexpress

14.3%
  2. Amazon

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Ebay

28.6%
  4. Specific online store

57.1%
  1. Adam Filipowicz

Adam Filipowicz Journeyman
    Builder

Curious where people are getting their endmill bits
    I am looking for 3mm and 6mm , double flute endmills for cutting Aluminum

Aliexpress?, ebay?, Amazon?

Aeneas likes this.
  2. Kevon Ritter

Kevon Ritter Veteran
    Builder

I'm by no means a pro, but this is all of the information I have gathered AND experienced in the real world. This stuff can be and usually is the difference between a rippled finish and a near mirror finish. It's a lot, but I tried to get to the point with everything. Make your own decisions, but please give it a read.

What kind of aluminum cutting?
    For hogging out material, I use diamond coated O-flutes.
    For finishing, I use variable flutes.
    For drilling small holes up to 5mm, I use a carbide drill bit.
    For drilling larger holes, I use a chamfer/drill mill AFTER drilling a pilot.
    For chamfering, I use a chamfer/drill mill.

Avoid certain finishes:
    TiAlN - Aluminum content will bond to the work piece.
    AlTiN - Aluminum content will bond to the work piece.
    TiN - Most are made cheaply now and flake right off.

What coatings work:
    TiCN - Very low friction, but needs active cooling.
    Diamond (2 types) - Incredible durability, but more expensive.
    Nothing - Much better than having a coating just for the sake of having a coating.

Flute Count:
    - Higher is better for finishing.
    - Lower is better for SRR.