Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

What type of laser do i need for Polymer stippling?

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by Jake Bonshire, Dec 20, 2019.

1. Jake Bonshire

Builder

Can anyone assist me? I am wanting to build a CNC laser for stippling polymer and engraving aluminum or stainless steel. I am very new to this and just wrapped up building my first 3D printer. I with so many machines out there I didn't know if a C02 would do the trick or a 20W laser what they have on amazon or if I need something totally different. Thanks for all your input.

2. Giarc

Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

You will need a CO2 laser. For metal engraving -- actually more like etching -- you may also need to apply CerMark first. Technically, you can etch some anodized aluminum with a diode laser, but you can get a 40 watt CO2 laser for not much more. I plan to make a super cool CO2 laser like this Openbuilds Table Top 50w Co2 Laser Cutter/Engraver someday with the components that came with my cheap K40 ebay laser. But until then, I will do something like this UK40OB since it takes up less space.

If you want a deep dive into CO2 laser info and mods, request to be a member here: The Maker Forums There are a few of us OpenBuilds forum members there as well.

3. Jake Bonshire

Builder

Thank you for the info.

4. Jake Bonshire

Builder

I am currently trying to stipple my G-Lock frames and some design work on 80% 15s. I almost gave in and did the 20w fiber on ebay but figured I would ask around. I would always rather build my own and learn then spend more money paying someone else.

CD74 likes this.
  5. CD74

CD74 New
    Builder