Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

What is this missing dimension?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by DarkAlchemist, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. DarkAlchemist

    DarkAlchemist Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    22
    [​IMG]
    From top to bottom (in the above side view) as well.
     
  2. BDP

    BDP Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sketchup says 12.2mm (0.480"). Hope that helps.

    Dimension.jpg
     
  3. DarkAlchemist

    DarkAlchemist Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    22
    Oh, thank you (I wish I knew how to use sketchup but I use Solidworks instead). By the way what does it say the other dimension is? The one in the other direction but still that open area in the middle of the beam.

    Thank you so much.
     
  4. dddman

    dddman Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    181
    I measure between 12.06mm and 12.08mm horizontally and between 16.44 and 16.48 vertically (according to your drawing). Sketchup measuring tape is known to be inaccurate...
     
  5. DarkAlchemist

    DarkAlchemist Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    22
    I never could figure out how to bring in a drawing to scale in Solidworks so I could use its lethally accurate tape measure because I don't use many pictures for that purpose.

    Thank you both for the help as that is precisely the info I needed. :)
     
  6. dddman

    dddman Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    181
    Time to learn how to use Sketchup? :p
     
  7. dddman

    dddman Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    181
    The official measure vertically is 16.4mm and 12.2mm in horizontally (extrapolated from the other dimensions)
     
    #7 dddman, Oct 19, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2014
  8. DarkAlchemist

    DarkAlchemist Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    22
    Perfect. Way enough space for a GT2/GT3 belt to go in there times two.

    Thanks.
     
  9. Guss

    Guss Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    8
    Credits to Mark (mqbeers)
    The dimensions are the 6.1 and 8.2 where the font is slightly bigger.
    The rest of the drawing is mirrored horizontal an vertically to complete the picture.

    So as dddman said, 12.2mm (6.1 * 2) in the drawing below, but now you also have all the other dimensions.
    [​IMG]

    Why you have issues in Solidworks?
    Make a new sketch in SW, using the picture and dimensions you do have.
    Keep in mind that everything is symmetrical, so in SW, you can shift-click select more than one drawing segment in your sketch, and then create a condition between the two objects (=, symmetrical, perpendicular, etc.) With this way, the "missing" dimensions become accurate.
    Then, in SW, while in sketching mode, click the dynamic dimensions tool, select the one edge and then the other, and it will add the dimensions as you see in the picture above. If you see lots of decimal digits, like 6.1239432mm, you most likely made some drawing mistake somewhere. 10 microns, 0.01 mm on linear sketch lines is a good indication that you on the right track.

    I remember a few years back, when I was new to Solidworks, I worked through all the included tutorials till I could do it on my own. I also watch some advanced youtube vidoes form other people that like to share there knowledge. I had some other 3D drawing experience before from Archicad, TurboCad, Caddie etc. that maybe assisted me in learning the ropes in Solidworks.

    Once you get the hang of the drawing methodology (Fusion, Designer, Solidworks) that you draw objects as you would manufacture them, everything becomes easy.
    We use the same methodology in computer programming, where everything are objects. (aka parts). Putting objects together (aka assemblies) we get a functional program.

    Good luck with Solidworks, its a gem once you used to it. (Sorry sketch-up, Solidworks won me over before Google's sketchup was worth using)
     
    #9 Guss, Nov 13, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2014
  10. DarkAlchemist

    DarkAlchemist Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    22
    The thing is the drawing I showed is what is on the page and those dimensions are not listed. Why they are not I do not understand.

    Thank you for the help.
     

Share This Page