Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Want to build my first printer

Discussion in '3D printers' started by SamStainback, Mar 3, 2018.

1. SamStainback

Builder

So as the title says, I want to build my first printer. I'm a software engineer with, I'd say, above 'average' mechanical/electrical skill but I'm not an expert. I was given a not-quite-working MakerBot 2x (dual extruder) printer from work. So I was thinking about cannibalizing that and building a new printer. But I have questions...

From what I've read, it seems the CoreXY architecture is the way to go. I'm not super concerned with speed, but I would like good detail. There are lots of names used here for the different printers and I'm not sure what the differences are really, like C-bot and D-bot.

I've found the D-bot build by spauda01 on Thingiverse that looks interesting. There are also some Hypercube designs I was looking at. But I don't know which would be a better option.

It would be great if someone could point me in the right direction.
    Here are a few things I'd like in the design consideration:
    • 24V electronics. This is the setup for the MakerBot so I figured I could reuse most of it this way
    • 250mm cubed or thereabouts print volume
    • Easily enclosed
    • I think I'd like to keep the direct feed type extruder from the MakerBot.

2. shotty

shotty New
    Builder

Hi Sam...
    I'm here 'cause I'm looking for hardware to build an Hypercube Evolution, project on Thingiverse, and my cube will be 350x350x650mm, so I suggest you to look bigger, differences about costs aren't so great...

IMHO, better you follow a project like Hypercube Evo, already tested, also if you can mod it as you want, like me, that I wanna change rod movement with linear guides, more stiff and precise, and so on.

Have a nice day!

;-Dan from Italy

3. Kevon Ritter

Kevon Ritter Veteran
    Builder