Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Trochoidal Milling of Contour Slots with Fusion 360

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Scotty Orr, Mar 1, 2018.

1. Scotty Orr

Scotty Orr Journeyman
    Builder

I'm pretty new to Fusion 360. In fact, I primarily use it to set up my CAM operations. I have yet to learn to design objects from scratch in F360. (I eventually will, but I'm much quicker with QCad.)

Most of the aluminum parts I make are pretty simple "plates" - an outline with a bunch of holes. My typical workflow goes like this:
    1. Create a DXF using QCad.
    2. Import the DXF into F360 and extrude to the thickness of my material.
    3. Create tool paths using 2D pockets for holes, and 2D contours (with tabs) for outlines.
    4. Clamp the aluminum to the table, and cut the holes and contour with the same bit (using multiple passes).

Screen Shot 2018-03-01 at 4.34.41 AM.png Screen Shot 2018-03-01 at 4.36.10 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-03-01 at 4.38.00 AM.png Screen Shot 2018-03-01 at 4.57.32 AM.png

Now, the plate of aluminum that I use is usually rectangular in shape, and has often had another part or two already cut out of it. While setting up CAM, I set a zero top offset for the material thickness (for positioning my bit on the top of the aluminum). Then for the tool paths, I set a bottom offset of -0.2mm for the cuts (forcing a through-cut into my spoil board). This has worked pretty well, but the contour cuts are actually just slots and are hard on my bits. (When I break a bit, it is usually during the contour cut.)

I've been envious watching videos of EstlCam's trochoidal milling of contours/slots, but I really want to focus my attention on learning F360, and am not interested in switching to, or learning EstlCam for this feature.