Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Total Newbie Question

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Robhoski, May 11, 2024.

1. Robhoski

Robhoski New
    Builder

I'm 62 - so not a rocket surgeon with technology (that's supposed to be funny).
    I just built a desktop CNC machine to move a plasma cutting torch. The control card is an MKS DLC 32 V2.1 which Open Builds Control seems to run just fine. My Nema 17 motors are connected to external TB6600 drivers. I can jog the machine on all three axis. I can click on the check size icon and the machine traces out the plate size correctly. When I try to dry run the gcode file the machine moves to the first cut and then returns an error code indicating the z axis is not in the initial expected state. When the machine moves to it's intial cut point the z axis moves up 10mm and stops (which is what I think I set the safe height to when I generated the g-code file). I'm wondering if the error is because I don't have any limit switches connected to the board yet and maybe it's looking for that? On another note - when I reposition the machine to the starting points I notice the z-axis won't zero completely - it stays at a small fraction such as .004 mm. Any advice? This is all very new to me, but I've been plugging away slowly but surely gaining ground. Thanks for any and all advice. I have only a very rudementary understanding of all of this stuff so techy jargon will go right over my head. I need the baby steps solution. :)

[12:56:50] [ ALARM ] ALARM: 4 - Probe fail. The probe is not in the expected initial state before starting probe cycle, where G38.2 and G38.3 is not triggered and G38.4 and G38.5 is triggered. [ G38.2 Z-30 F500 ]

[12:56:50] [ ] ALARM: 4 - Probe fail. The probe is not in the expected initial state before starting probe cycle, where G38.2 and G38.3 is not triggered and G38.4 and G38.5 is triggered. [ G38.2 Z-30 F500 ]

[12:56:50] [ G38.2 Z-30 F500 ] ALARM:4