Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Stepper motor won't move, any suggestions? (Solved)

Discussion in 'Motors' started by shoombanka, Sep 14, 2018.

  1. shoombanka

    shoombanka Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi i'm trying to complete my first cnc build, it's a 1500X1500 Workbee.
    I'm having trouble with the electronics, I can't get the stepper motor (just testing one to start) to move
    It just clicks, shudders, its like the motor is working against itself, it will also squeal if I increase the drivers step size over 1/16


    I am using-

    GRBL
    UGS v1.0.9
    Arduino uno controler
    TB6600HG stepper drivers (currently set to 5A 1/16 step)
    3.3nm 467oz Nema24
    36V 10A psu


    I've changed the wiring configuration, wire gauge, driver settings and grbl settings with no luck, really not sure what it could be at this point, I'm still learning how it all works, I hope it turns out to be something simple. Thank you for taking the time to read this post.
    This is all very new to me so any bit of help is greatly appreciated!


    arduino uno psu driver 1.JPG arduino uno psu driver 2.JPG arduino uno psu driver 3.JPG arduino uno psu driver 4.JPG kit purchased on ebay.jpg UGS settings screenshot.png
     
  2. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    34
    Just as a thought, since you didn't mentioned that you did it, did you check that you have the stepper wires paired correctly?
     
  3. shoombanka

    shoombanka Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks for the thought!
    I looked at few diagrams and switched wires around just to test it with my fingers crossed, but nothing seemed to make any difference.
    I'll double check anyway, just incase!
     
  4. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    34
    Use a multi meter to check continuity. If you have the correct pair the meter should show a short.
     
  5. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    792
    What is the amp rating on the steppers? 5A on the drivers sounds way too high...
     
  6. shoombanka

    shoombanka Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think the stepper driver was originally set to 3.3A and I thought the motor was not moving because of a lack of or too much power, I know its probably a bit risky but i've tried each power setting on the driver from 0.2A to 5A
    I'll set it back down to 3.3
    there seems to be no change in the way the motor responds on each power setting, its still seems like the motor is fighting itself :(
     
    #6 shoombanka, Sep 16, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2018
  7. shoombanka

    shoombanka Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Cool, I checked with a multimeter A+A- B+B- are all fine, I don't know what i'm checking for on the EN PUL and DIR though tbh
     
  8. shoombanka

    shoombanka Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry, correction- the stepper motor amp rating is 4.2A, i'll set it back.

    Screen Shot 2018-09-17 at 11.24.55 am.png
     
  9. shoombanka

    shoombanka Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    It works :)
    Thanks for your help guys!

    I had a few things to fix.

    Changed stepper driver setting to 4.2A

    Rsoldered (en- pul- dir-) to earth for a better connection

    Changed the stepper motor wiring again so B- =blue B+ =red A- =Green A+= Black . (B- and B+ were the wrong way around)

    DIR+ to pin 5
    PUL+ to pin 2
    EN+ to pin 8 (DIR+ and PUL+ were the wrong way around)

    Thanks again, here are some photos with the correct wiring- IMG_20180917_191914.jpg IMG_20180917_191628.jpg IMG_20180917_191132.jpg

     
    Mark Carew and GrayUK like this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice