Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Spindle mounts

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Darus, Apr 9, 2015.

  1. Darus

    Darus Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,

    Could everyone that has a spindle mounted post some pictures as how they have attached the spindle to the OX build.

    Thanks,
     
  2. dddman

    dddman Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    181
    Yes I can :)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Nick W

    Nick W Veteran
    Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    45
    mybuild14 likes this.
  4. Rick 2.0

    Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    629
    Indicating what type of spindle you will be using would be helpful.
     
  5. BOZINATOR

    BOZINATOR New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just received the Openbuilds router mount yesterday. I have had problems trying to mount it to the 20 x60 Z axis rail. The wheel nuts are keeping it from laying flat against the rail. Yes, I can grind down or file the nylon nuts so it can fit, but then there is the not so easy mounting to the rail and trying to make it square.
    I think what I am going to do is add a 1/4" plate to the rear ofthe mount and attach the plate to the rail directly.
    Any one else having the same problem, or maybe a better solution?
    Jim
     
  6. BOZINATOR

    BOZINATOR New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well....I Think I solved the mounting problem. I trimmed the back of the mount where the screws were hitting. I cut a band saw blade width on both back corners about 1/4" to clear the nuts....this was enough to clear with room to spare.
    Attaching to the z-axis was was accomplished by first attaching the brackets to the mount, then the top two brackets to the rail followed by the bottom two screws..don't try to square this yet. First check the height you require (usually the lowest you want it to travel with the bit) allow an extra 1/8" for cut-thru projects.
    Once ok with that, find something square that is the same size (height) and rest it on the lip of the of the lower lead screw plate. Bring the mount down resting the lower mount brackets on top. Tighting the screws and mount your router checking if it is at the same height you were thinking , don't forget to expose the router lock below the mount.
    Best of luck
    Jim
     
    GrayUK likes this.
  7. Hytech2k

    Hytech2k Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    312
    I was using a Chris Laidlaw mount holding a DeWalt 611 router, now i'm using a Chris Laidlaw custom mount with a 65mm air cooled GMT spindle... Can't say enough good things about Chris's work... Also using a Z slide purchased off Ebay...
     
  8. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Hey guys,
    We added another model to the example file to show a mounting configuration that will help to ensure that on builds like the OX (where the V wheels ride on the side) there will be 4mm more clearance to ensure the nuts will clear the mount.
    We have updated the resource to V7 and added the new example model as well :)
    New Resource V7

    20x60 mount mod.JPG
    V-Slot 20x60_Mount Example_Pic1.jpg
    We are sure that there are many other ways to allow the mount to clear, but this is a simple way we came up with on the quick that may help with this style of mounting.
    Hope this helps
    Thank you
    Mark
     
  9. Nick W

    Nick W Veteran
    Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    45
    @kram242 FYI the example on the far right is not correct. I have not opened the model to see if it is just your photo. But the mount isn't on the surface of the extrusion.
     
    Mark Carew likes this.
  10. BOZINATOR

    BOZINATOR New
    Builder

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is true...it does not touch! Look at the resources section and look at the part list on the revised mounting method. It uses two flat plates as spacers.......not a great way of doing it. Treating a symptom not the problem. That is why I just trimmed the corners where the nylon nuts are touching the mount and it now lays flat against the rail. It fixes the problem.
    Best of luck
    Jim
     
  11. Mark Carew

    Mark Carew OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Hello guys, thank you for the feedback!
    This idea is really just a quick mod we came up with to help space the mount from the nuts on this type of configuration.
    However with the corners it seems to make for an even more ridge mount system then mounting to a flat plate mount configuration without them.
    We understand that there are lots of other ways I am sure you guys can come up with (One of the cool parts about this modular building system :) ). This is working great on my build.
    With that being said we thank you guys for the helpful feedback and will be working hard to find way to help make a solution for future versions of the mount.
    Mark
     
  12. Taz-Digs

    Taz-Digs Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have a 400W 52MM spindle on my OX. I tried a 3d printed mount off thingiverse and it did not work out very well for me. it is in white in the image. I wound up designing one that uses pipe clamps to hold the spindle on. It holds extremely well for the design and overall cost. Just bolts on with 6 bolts and I run a clamp in the groove. Here is a pic, if you would like the file let me know and I will share it.
     

    Attached Files:

    GrayUK likes this.
  13. Medman

    Medman New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    would you kindly post the STL or STEP file
     

Share This Page