Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Spindle control from GRBL 1.1

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by RobFromLDMS, Mar 29, 2021.

  1. RobFromLDMS

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have an xPRO V5 running GRBL on my 3040 CNC router, with the BLDC spindle controlled by the PWM output going to a Novusun NVBDL+ spindle driver (the no-Hall effect version).

    My problem is that I cannot make the spindle stop. I have it connected so that the EN output from the xPRO goes to the CW (run clockwise) input on the spindle controller, and the PWM output of the xPRO going to the PWM input of the spindle controller.

    On power up, the spindle immediately starts running full bore (12,000rpm). the mode settings on GRBL show M5, ie spindle disabled. As soon as I issue a M3S10000 (enable spindle) the spindle changes speed to 10000 (or whatever you request) and from then on all speed changes are effective. BUT, M5 does nothing. The EN output does change state with M3/M5 (as measured). The PWM average voltage varies with speed commanded. But when the spindle is disabled, there still appears to be a voltage on the PWM.

    So, how do I get the spindle controller and GRBL to play nice together? Has anyone successfully connected a spindle via GRBL to the PWM of a Novusun spindle controller?

    thanks
    Rob
     
  2. Sammy59

    Sammy59 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    did you solved your Issue ? , Because I have the same problem with my NVBBDL+ ,
    I even try with the 0-10 Volt,, but no rsponse , I even with a varible powwer supply and No action

    I connect the CW to ground spindle start full speed as soon I apply the power
     
    #2 Sammy59, Dec 20, 2022
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2022
  3. RobFromLDMS

    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    No, I haven't solved the issue yet. I tried making a buffer with 74-series TTL buffers, no luck. The xPRO logic out is 3.3V, so in theory enough to trigger TTL. So next try is to use 3.3V-5V buffer/drivers. I can live without speed control for now, but it would be nice to have.
     
  4. Sammy59

    Sammy59 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Another proble Arise , the momment I start the job aand spindle start , I lost my connection
    try to reconnect but USB port is nbot found anymore.
    Can you sharee your config so at least I will be able to start the job wthout benn disconnected

    By the way i'm using blackbox x32
    Thank You
     
  5. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,193
    Likes Received:
    4,151
    David the swarfer likes this.
  6. Sammy59

    Sammy59 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    No I dont think so I put ferrite beads to all my motor, and also run all my switch cable in a shielded to ground cable , but only on one side!
    I dont want to create a ground loop

    I found something else, my 0-10 volt is always at 10 volt even if no tool command is given by the system, to be sure I disconnect my spindle from my NVBDL+ device ant take a voltage measurement at the 0-10Volt terminal from de X32 box

    Is my box is defective ?
     
  7. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,294
    Likes Received:
    1,844
    look at your $31 and $30 settings. are they 0 and 'max spindle speed'?
    The GRBL default is 0 and 1000 and since most spindles are higher than that almost any spindle speed command will result in max speed.
     
    Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  8. Sammy59

    Sammy59 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello David thank you for your answer thiis my setup ,


    [12:15:47] [ $$ ] $30=1000.000 ;Maximum spindle speed, RPM
    [12:15:47] [ $$ ] $31=0.000 ;Minimum spindle speed, RPM
    [12:15:47] [ $$ ] $32=0 ;Laser-mode enable, boolean
    [12:15:47] [ $$ ] $33=400.0 ;Spindle PWM frequency
    [12:15:47] [ $$ ] $34=0.0 ;Spindle off Value
    [12:15:47] [ $$ ] $35=0.0 ;Spindle min value
    [12:15:47] [ $$ ] $36=100.0 ;Spindle max value
     
  9. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14,193
    Likes Received:
    4,151
    Should be 24000 for a typical 24krpm spindle
     
  10. Sammy59

    Sammy59 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    thank you I will try, any Idea why my 0-10 volt stay the same even if I do M3 S500
    Is there any special config tha has to be set to set 0-10 and PWM ?
    Also where can we find more details about GRBLHal used in the X32 if I want to compile my own bin file ?

    I check in github , but I have no reference to parameter higher than $132
     
  11. Sammy59

    Sammy59 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can you put your Px setup and also your $$ config
     
    #11 Sammy59, Jan 8, 2023
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2023
  12. Sammy59

    Sammy59 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Found after I setup my parameter as per your instruction 0-10 is now working using the tool option in the openbuilds control
    thank you
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice