Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Software & calibrating

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Dave W, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. Dave W

    Dave W New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am new to CNC builds (haven't heard that before). My build is similar to Marks OX but the size is different I have a 60" x 30" OX router built. I'm running the CNC xPRO Driver controller. I have downloaded GRBL and Universal GCode sender. GRBL isn't controlling the controller at all. Universal GCode sender was stepping all the axis, but was going like 5" at 1mm step setting. I used ShapeOko Grbl settings calculator to try to calibrete it, and now it gust looks the steppers. These are the settings. If anyone could help me out of my ignorance it would be greatly appreciated.
    $0=314.96062992125985
    $1=314.96062992125985
    $2=20480
    $3=30
    $4=750
    $5=1100
    $6=0.1
    $7=0
    $8=9.8
    $9=0.05
    If anyone could help me out of my ignorance it would be greatly appreciated.

    Dave
     
  2. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    357
    I don't have my grbl reference handy so don't know what those numbers mean. (-:
    however, there is a good calibration thread at
    http://openbuilds.com/resources/howto-calibrate-your-ox.145/
    that will step you through the issues.

    my basic process is:
    the belts are based on mm, so do all the setup in mm
    calculate the basic step size from belt pitch, pulley size, stepper steps/rev and microsteps settings (as per the calculator yu used)
    cross check by commanding a long move and measuring it accurately, then recalculating the calibration from the formulas I gave in the thread.

    'commanding a long move' can look like this:
    jog the gantry to the front of the machine
    zero Y
    give the MDI command 'G21 G1 Y635 F200'

    that should move the gantry 635mm at 200mm a minute, so that move will take 3 minutes or so. I move it slowly so that I am just about guarranteed to not miss any steps due to high speed. if your acceleration is too high you may miss steps!
     
  3. Dave W

    Dave W New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your response.
    I have the formula for calibrating the steps. After I imputed all the $= commands, the controller only locks up the steppers. I don't know how to do the setup through universal GCode sender, or get the setup for GERBL. That's the info I think I need.
     
  4. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    357
    Have you watched Marks OX build videos?
    He goes through the setup in detail in the second one IIRC



    and then there is the GRBL wiki which explains the configuration.
    https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki/Configuring-Grbl-v0.9

    I think your problem lies in the the timing settings, either the length of the pulses is too short, the settings for:
    $0=10 (step pulse, usec)
    $1=255 (step idle delay, msec)

    or your pulse rate/acceleration rate is way too high so the motor never starts.
    The GRBL defaults for Shapeoko should work, though may not be optimal for your machine.
     
  5. superelvis

    superelvis Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Please I need help in GRBL Settings!! :confused:

    I got my OX CNC with X 1000 x Y 1500mm an 4X Motors NEMA23 one week ago from Ooznest.
    That is a realy nice quality machine!! I am so happy with this!
    I assembled all hardware components the last few days...
    Now I have to setup GRBL with all the nessery settings...
    I am a beginner in CNC an need some help please!
    I have set jumers on xPro to 32 uSteps/Step.
    GRBL Firmware I have updated to
    Grbl v0.9j Atmega328p 16mhz 115200baud with ShapeOko2 defaults ??!
    is that the right one?
    On Xloader I choose device UNO (ATmega 328) and 115200 baud rate



    Unbenannt.JPG

    Than I calculate the GRBL settings by ShapeOko grblcalc.
    The ShapeOko grblcalc only calculate up to 16 microsteps /step, but I set my jumpers to 32 microsteps /step on xPro Controller. o_O:(
    Also the ShapOko setting calculator tells me that Z max steps/s is Greater than 30kHz!

    Step pulse with value = ??
    Feed rate value = ??
    Seek rate value = ??
    Arc sgements value = ??

    Step port invert mask value = ??
    Acceleration value = ??
    Cornering junktion deviation value = ??


    16 microsteps.JPG


    Here is my used hardware:

    4x NEMA 23 High Torque Stepper Motor
    Step angle 1.8° ±5%
    Holding torque 123.4 N.cm (12.6kg.cm, 177.5oz.in)
    Voltage 2.5V
    Phase Number 2
    Current/Phase 2.80A
    Resistance 0.9Ω/Phase ±10%
    Inductance 2.5mH/Phase ±20%
    Number of Wires 4
    Insulation Resistance 100MΩMin. 500VDC
    Weight 0.70kg
    NEMA23-746x1000.jpg
    Power Supply
    24V 360W Power Supply
    Power-Supply_1-746x1000.jpg
    GT3 Pulley

    Pitch GT3
    Teeth 20
    Max Belt Width 6mm
    Total Width 17.6mm
    Bore 6.35mm
    Flange Double
    Material Aluminium

    GT3 Timing Belt
    Pitch GT3
    3mm = inches 0,12 unroundet inches = (0,1181102362204724)
    Width 5mm
    GT3-Kit-746x1000.jpg

    8mm Lead Screw
    Pitch 2mm
    Lengths 290mm
    ACME-746x1000.jpg


    CNC xPro v2:

    GRBL Firmware I have updated to Grbl v0.9j Atmega328p 16mhz 115200baud with ShapeOko2 defaults ??!
    is that the right one?


    uStep Jumper Settings I have set jumers to 32 uSteps/Step
     
  6. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    126
    @superelvis glad you like our machine, and have been successful assembling it so far.

    I would advise setting the jumpers to 1/8th micro stepping, there is no real advantage gained by going any higher, because of the precision errors in the motors, and any theoretical accuracy achieved by going higher, it would be unlikely you could actually reach that in real applications.

    The xPro does come with grbl firmware already uploaded. You can then see the current settings by typing '$$' in the g-code sender.

    I have attached the grbl settings i use with my machine which is set to 1/8th micro stepping. These settings are a good starting point. One thing to note i am not use mechanical endstops, so the homing settings i just left what the defaults are.
     

    Attached Files:

    superelvis and Mark Carew like this.
  7. elie

    elie New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I am a newbeee.... i have the same setup as superelvis above

    I input the values that Ryan has mentioned above. Thank you
    but the smoothness of the machine isn't good there seems to be a bit of shacking when on the Y and X

    The board is heating up too... got any tips or ideas? I measured the output voltage from power supply... it is 24v

    Thanks for your help
     
  8. Ronald van Arkel

    Staff Member Resident Builder Builder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    232
    Hello Elie,

    Put a fan on it, I use a 24vDC 80mm fan on my setups. Also, did you adjust the pot-meters for the current (A) settings?

    -Ronald
     
  9. superelvis

    superelvis Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello PuntoMX,

    I have the same problem with shacking x y and z.
    I have the xpro board.
    How do I set up the pod meters for the current(do you mean the 4 little screw near the axis driver on the board ?)

    also my output / drawings on the router are mirrored
     
  10. elie

    elie New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi puntoMx

    Mounting a fan today 24vdc 60mm.
    How do I overcome the shaking?
    What setting do you use for gbrl?

    II have played around with the pots... Doesn't seem to trip

    When you power up you, can you still move the x and y by hand? Mine become solid,

    Thanks
     
  11. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    126
    @elie @superelvis Are you able to get the axes moving? or do they just shake on the same spot? could be that you have the motor wires connected in the wrong order.

    Also check the pulleys are not slipping on the motor shaft, and that the belts are nicely tensioned.

    When you power up the motors should lock into position. Would it possible to get a video of the shaking?
     
  12. elie

    elie New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Machine is moving, just lots of shaking. Video attached is trying to make a circular movement (I havent powered the spindle here, just showing movement of equipment) ...Video Link; https://goo.gl/photos/YnRBBp7bzeEdFEDR6

    Xpro is set to 1/8th stepping. Pulleys are nicely tensioned

    I also attached picture of wiring to board. Do I need to earth the AC-Dc power supply? What current rating is the board up to? I want to put a fuse to protect it

    IMG_20151101_131008.jpg IMG_20151101_131221.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  13. elie

    elie New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just swapped the wiring on the Y-Clone motor on Board

    I now have on clone: A1 - Green, A2 Red, B1 Blue, B2 Yellow
    On all other 3 motors - A1 - Red, A2 Green, B1 Yellow, B2 Blue
     
  14. Ryan Lock

    Ryan Lock Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    126
    The A should be cloning the Y, and you should ensure they are both turning the correct way, if any are turning the wrong way, just reverse the wiring order.

    I would also definitely connect an earth to the PSU.

    And also you acceleration settings are very low, i would set them all to at least 50.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The OpenBuilds Team is dedicated helping you to Dream it - Build it - Share it! Collaborate on our forums and be sure to visit the Part Store for all your Maker needs.


    Support@OpenBuilds.com

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Support Open Source FairShare Program!

    OpenBuilds FairShare Give Back Program provides resources to Open Source projects, developers and schools around the world. Invest in your future by helping others develop their future.

    Donate to Open Source