Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Smoothieboard with DQ542MA

Discussion in 'Controller Boards' started by yarnairb, Mar 4, 2017.

1. yarnairb

yarnairb New
    Builder

Hi Everyone,
    I'm a newbie who just ordered a bunch of parts to get my feet wet and gain some experience with the build-your-own world. I got the smoothie board and a couple of the linear motion kits to play around with. I got the smoothie with the onboard driver to work with my NEMA 17 but I'm having issues with the external driver and the NEMA 23. I soldered on the pin header and wired everything for the common anode, open-drain configuration with the 5v coming off of one of the limit switch pins. I have metered everything for continuity and voltage but get an alarm LED on the driver as soon as I power everything up. I also set the config file to the open-drain mode with appended 'o'. When I power up just the 24v and leave smoothie off I get a green light on the driver and the stepper locks up tight. So far so good. But once I power up smoothie I lose the green light and the alarm comes on. I've reviewed this a dozen times and lost a bunch of hair so would really appreciate if anyone has any tips or clues. Thanks!

2. yarnairb

yarnairb New
    Builder

BTW I should add that I set grbl mode so I could use bCNC and I'm running the cnc firmware.

3. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Hi @yarnairb

1) In open collector mode, you also need to invert the pin by adding "!"
    2) As a quick test, the DQ542MA does work OK with 3.3v signals (ie not open collector mode) if the wiring is nice and short. (I wouldnt recommend it as the final installation, but this would afford you an opportunity to test your setup it a little better, without the complication of open collector. Can always go there later - lets just get it working first)