Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Sketchucam G-Code not generating corectly

Discussion in 'CAM' started by gareth harvey, Jun 2, 2017.

  1. gareth harvey

    gareth harvey Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Having some massive issues with Sketchucam. I have a drawing in Sketchup, have generated the g-code, have plotted the G-code and viewed it. It all looks good. Sent it over to the CNC and it's cutting circles that are not on the drawing.

    The image is correct in Sketchup and the G-code viewer within sketchup, but different when I click Visualise.

    Is this an error with Sketchucam?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    357
    Hi
    A quick fix might be...
    Remove that inside cut
    Select all of the outline
    Right click the selection
    Select 'explode'
    Add a new inside cut.

    But I would like to see the original sketchup file please, just to make sure you have not discovered a bug.
     
  3. gareth harvey

    gareth harvey Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Here are the files, didn't realise these were more important
     

    Attached Files:

  4. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    357
    HI
    It looks like those imported arcs (the entire drawing is arcs except for a few short straight segments) are doing something weird and Sketchup cannot determine the direction correctly. (and Sketchup tells SketchUcam what the direction is)

    To fix it, select each problematic arc in turn (the 2 on the left and the one at bottom right), double the number of segments, then 'explode curve'. When you insert the inside cut you will now get the correct cuts since the problem arcs are now line segments. By doubling the number of segments the segment length is made smaller so the line segmentation should not be visible in the cut since they are smaller than the bit radius.
     
  5. gareth harvey

    gareth harvey Well-Known
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, that's fixed it
     
  6. David the swarfer

    David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    357
    wasn't really a problem for me, but then, I am using the new version of Gplot (-:
    panning rate IS proportional to the drawing size, and I need to look at solving that. it should rather be proportional to screen size and maybe zoom level.
     

Share This Page