Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

sheetcam

Discussion in 'CAM' started by 77johan, Apr 30, 2018.

  1. 77johan

    77johan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello, i want to use sheetcam as CAM program to convert my dxf file into gcodes for my workbee router, i have to select a post processor but in that list is nothing i can use or that looks familiar...you can import a processor but were to search for it ? is it a driver or so ? i use the X-pro cnc controller.

    thanks
     
  2. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    203
    you need a GRBL post processor.. i don't know anything about Sheetcam, but i use Estlcam.com on DXF files, you can try it free
     
  3. 77johan

    77johan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks !! any ideas were to download a grbl post processor ? i have the cnc x-pro controller on the cnc machine, and use the UGS (universal gcode sender) for transferring gcodes to the machine ,
    kind regards, johan
     
  4. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    203
    Hi Johan, quick search i found this thread on the sheetcam site
     
  5. 77johan

    77johan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the help, i downloaded the file, imported into sheetcam, selected and generated the gcode, than in ugs i browsed to the "tap" file and no errors....but when sending to the machine nothing is happening, even 0 seconds to send, however there are 19 lines....what am i missing ??
     
  6. 77johan

    77johan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont know what to do anymore, it supposed to be so easy installing and operating but until now i am busy for days searching, trying ,installing trying again, programs that match the machine but i am still not able to get it running, not even a single line,all that works after all these days is homing the machine to the right far corner.....
     
  7. 77johan

    77johan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    are you using also a workbee router ? or cnc x-pro controller ? do you in estlcam also need to configure or install some post processor or is it ready to use /ready to generate gcodes ?
     
  8. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    203
    Estlcam has grbl post baked in, you just have to select it. There are videos on YouTube for using it, let me know if you need help setting it up. Also I could post a simple file for you to try.
    Gary
     
  9. 77johan

    77johan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i will try estlcam...i also contacted Ryan Lock about the grbl plasma.scpost , maybe there are also other grbl post processors that i can use, but i will try for now estlcam, see if that works without changing i dont know what, with a simple file you mean like a drawing ?
    thanks for the help so far!!!
     
  10. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    203
    yes, I could send you a simple g-code file and you can try to run it on ugs..
    You are able to home, and jog and all that? i bet you have too long of code strings.. there is a setting in UGS that lets you make the lines longer.. i forget what they call it.
    Post one of the files you are trying here. and your "$$" GRBL settings.
     
  11. 77johan

    77johan New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello,
    i am sure that the problem is with the post processor, its not the correct one for my machine, homing, jog and all that is working fine and in the right directions,
    when i am home i will post a simple quick drawing wich i created to see if it was working and my grbl settings
    greetz
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice