Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Router / Spindle specs for a newby

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Robert Swihart, Jul 8, 2017.

1. Robert Swihart

Builder

Sirs;

I am new to the CNC world, and I will build one for wood working, and making parts from aluminum and stainless steel. Is a spindle or router on the market, that would qualify for all these needs, or should I consider a different machine for the different jobs? Note: I will want to do 3D projects, and probably expand the system to 4 or 5 axis.

I need to know what software and electronics are feasible for the DIY guy on a budget. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks again,

(Texas) Tin Man

2. Kevon Ritter

Kevon Ritter Veteran
    Builder

You don't seem to know what direction you actually want to go. Unless you want to spend more than a new car, you're not going get a 5 axis stainless milling machine.

What material?
    What thickneses?
    What's your work area?

Your router/spindle doesn't matter if your machine can't do it.

Grantman likes this.
  3. Rob Taylor

Rob Taylor Master
    Builder

I was in the exact same position about 5 years ago. Long story short: not gonna happen. There is a pretty exciting voyage of discovery along the way if you want to dive in, though.

You're gonna have to put together two machines for the different purposes. The limiting factor isn't the spindle- rotational energy is rotational energy- but the machine structure itself.

Wood is soft, machined in large quantities at a time, doesn't require too much rigidity, etc. Something along the lines of an OX might be good, depending on what you're trying to do. The rigidity of aluminum can help you there if you're trying to add more z-height to start rotating parts. Laguna Tools have some decent machines you could base a build on.