Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Quick Laser/Software Question

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by Giarc, Nov 6, 2017.

  1. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    269
    I have a two watt blue laser I plan to add to my existing CNC router. I posted a similar question elsewhere, but here it goes again:

    I want to give Estlecam a try. Currently I use GRBL Panel and would like to try LaserWeb when I get the laser all mounted on. If I hit the "Program the Arduino' tab in Estlecam, do I no longer have the ability to use GRBL Panel (ie something changed on the Arduino)? Just curious. I assume it is just re-entering the same settings I already have in GRBL which I set via GRBL Panel. See below for Estlecam screen shot:

    Untitled.jpg
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    116
    Correct. Eslcam firmware is a thing on its own, replaces Grbl. You have to te upload Grbl to use non-estlcam toolchains
     
  3. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    269
    Hmmm... maybe I should just build a seperate laser cutter.:)
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    116
    (; get an Acro kit (;
     
  5. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    269
    I had considered it, but I have so many wheel kits, 5 mm screws, and random other OB parts laying around, I think all I would need to order would be rails and stepper. I have a bunch of 1/4 inch acrylic scraps, too. I may just have to use my CNC to make the necessary plates. :thumbsup:

    My problem is that space is a major issue.
     
  6. Ariel Yahni

    Ariel Yahni Master
    Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    124
    Well if space is an issue then stick the ACRO to the wall. I did that with mine :)
     
    Giarc likes this.
  7. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    269
    I had thought about that.
     

Share This Page