Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Quick Laser/Software Question

Discussion in 'Laser Cutters' started by Giarc, Nov 6, 2017.

  1. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    398
    I have a two watt blue laser I plan to add to my existing CNC router. I posted a similar question elsewhere, but here it goes again:

    I want to give Estlecam a try. Currently I use GRBL Panel and would like to try LaserWeb when I get the laser all mounted on. If I hit the "Program the Arduino' tab in Estlecam, do I no longer have the ability to use GRBL Panel (ie something changed on the Arduino)? Just curious. I assume it is just re-entering the same settings I already have in GRBL which I set via GRBL Panel. See below for Estlecam screen shot:

    Untitled.jpg
     
  2. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    197
    Correct. Eslcam firmware is a thing on its own, replaces Grbl. You have to te upload Grbl to use non-estlcam toolchains
     
  3. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    398
    Hmmm... maybe I should just build a seperate laser cutter.:)
     
  4. Peter Van Der Walt

    Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Resident Builder Project Maker Contest Winner! Builder

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    197
    (; get an Acro kit (;
     
  5. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    398
    I had considered it, but I have so many wheel kits, 5 mm screws, and random other OB parts laying around, I think all I would need to order would be rails and stepper. I have a bunch of 1/4 inch acrylic scraps, too. I may just have to use my CNC to make the necessary plates. :thumbsup:

    My problem is that space is a major issue.
     
  6. Ariel Yahni

    Ariel Yahni Master
    Project Maker Builder

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    263
    Well if space is an issue then stick the ACRO to the wall. I did that with mine :)
     
    Giarc likes this.
  7. Giarc

    Giarc Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    398
    I had thought about that.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice