Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

problems with long z axis

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by hosa200, Mar 18, 2018.

  1. hosa200

    hosa200 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I have been working on a cnc router for foam machining so I needed a long z axis.

    as you see in the pictures the problem is that the spindle makes a vibration about the x axis which happens in the movment (see videos).

    The second problem is that the z axis slips to down because of weight which I fixed by using springs but I was hopping to find another solution.

    So any ideas.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    37
    It may sound counter intuitive but the solution can be two things.

    1. Make the Z axis longer and add a second Y rail that will support the Z axis in two locations at all time. Make it at least 10cm apart. More is better
    2. If you will only cut foam, use a way smaller spindle. I have a brushless motor for my spindle and it can handle wood with no problem, let alone foam. It's much much lighter than your router. Google it and you'll see many options.
     
    Rick 2.0 likes this.
  3. Gary Caruso

    Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    206
    looks like the whole frame is very tall and wobbly.. the x gantry is probably twisting too, one stick of 2040 isnt enough by far
     
  4. hosa200

    hosa200 New
    Builder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using a brushless motor as the spindle is a good idea but I didn't understand the first solution ?!
     
  5. jeffmorris

    jeffmorris Veteran
    Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11
    Can you rebuild your machine to use C-Beam linear actuators?
     
  6. JustinTime

    JustinTime Master
    Builder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    37
    [​IMG]

    You see how you have a 20x20 beam where the gantry is running on? Add another beam above it with a second gantry so that you have two of them attached to the Z axis.
     
    #6 JustinTime, Mar 21, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2018

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice